Catsailor.com

New Sailor needs advice

Posted By: keithsm2

New Sailor needs advice - 11/18/14 02:35 PM

Good Morning...Im fairly new to sailing...( got one summer on a J24).

I would like to get something to sail that i can do by myself if necessary and pull to different lakes around north texas. Would also like to be able to carry 2 or 3 people.. Ive been looking at the hobie getaway or T2. Would I be able to put this in the water and rig it up myself??

Thanks in advance..
Keith
Posted By: Karl_Brogger

Re: New Sailor needs advice - 11/18/14 03:42 PM

Either of those would probably be a good choice. The T2 hasn't been around that long so there likely isn't much available for used boats. The Getaway has been around quite a while though. The nice thing about both of these boats is that the hulls are borderline indestructible when compared to a composite boat.

Neither is really a performance boat, or has much that you can race against if that is what you are interested in. Used Hobie 16's can be picked up pretty reasonably, just about everyone on here has either owned one, or started on one. Good boats, very quirky. Beware of some older models as it may take more to make them safe than they are worth.

If you are new to sailing, and catamarans, I'd stay away from F16's, or F18's until you are more comfortable. They're technical, power up very quickly, and can be a bit daunting until you know what you are doing.

A Hobie Wave might be a good choice as well.

Re: New Sailor needs advice - 11/18/14 03:45 PM

thanks...I dont think im ready for racing now...although the GT300.com looks interesting smile. My main concern is whether or not i will be able to rig them up by myself and then sail...Im sure rigging up and getting in the water will be most difficult..
Posted By: Jake

Re: New Sailor needs advice - 11/18/14 03:45 PM

Originally Posted by keithsm2
Good Morning...Im fairly new to sailing...( got one summer on a J24).