Originally Posted by waterbug_wpb
I would also presume that if the Nacra collided with the channel marker, he or she isn't especially versant in the finer points of the rules of sailing?

I think the following boats have more "rights":
- Starboard tack
- leeward boat (if on same tack)
- boat being overtaken (regardless of tack or if under power)

Am I missing something?


I will say it was his first time on the boat... but he is a very experienced sailor and races every year.... where i am not a racer.. and can't say i am well versed in the rules... that is why i asked.

thanks