05/03/08 05:46 PM
05/03/08 05:46 PM

A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A

I was going to check out a used Prindle 16, and I keep reading that the rudders are their weak point. Being a complete novice, I don't know that I could tell what shape this boats rudders are in (unless the problem is that they break off!).

Can anyone explain what the problem is and/or what I could look for?

Thanks!

-- Have You Seen This? --
Re: Prindle 16 bad rudders [Re: ] #141893
05/07/08 09:23 PM
05/07/08 09:23 PM
J
jcasto1 Offline
enthusiast
jcasto1  Offline
enthusiast
J

If you can find a P16 with rudders that are working and compare them to a NACRA rudder system or Hobie, you'll see instantly the weak points of the old Prindle system.
If you're not worried about one-design class rules, and you have access to other parts, you could adopt a Hobie or NACRA rudder system onto a P16, I suppose.
Rudder issues should not keep you from getting a P16 however. It is a fine boat in many aspects.

Jim Casto
NACRA 5.5 & NACRA 5.7
Austin TX
Lake Travis
Re: Prindle 16 bad rudders [Re: ] #141894
05/08/08 06:52 AM
05/08/08 06:52 AM
Long Island, NY
gregP19 Offline
enthusiast
gregP19  Offline
enthusiast

Long Island, NY
It's not the rudders themselves-it's the system for raising and lowering them that needs a little TLC. It's nothing you can't figure out just by looking at them-and it's certainly nothing that should keep you from getting the boat. Spare parts are easy to get. I'll give you details if you send me a PM.

G Gove Blade #728 Long Island, New Yawk
Re: Prindle 16 bad rudders [Re: jcasto1] #141895
05/08/08 07:25 AM
05/08/08 07:25 AM
Atlanta
bvining Offline
veteran
bvining  Offline
veteran

Atlanta
Most rudder systems for beach cats have some weak point, someone needs to design something better.

Here's my criteria for a good rudder system.

1a. Good light feel on the tiller, good rudder profile, able to be adjusted toe in, toe out, forward, aft, etc.