Hop To
Page 5 of 8 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Re: Spi + planing hull = ? [Re: BRoberts] #28177
01/29/04 11:30 PM
01/29/04 11:30 PM
rbj Offline OP
rbj  Offline OP

Hi Bill,

Thanks, but I understood you the first time regarding how shared lift solves the CE migration problem when flying a spi. What I was asking was why an alternative approach wouldn't work just as well if not better. So, without raking the mast, when flying a spi, why not just move the daggerboard forward to a second daggerboard well to match the new CE? And when taking the spi down, why not just move it back to a more aft position? Although it would be an extra step during changing from upwind to downwind, it seems like it would give a balanced helm in all conditions just as well as the shared lift approach. I'm not a boat designer with your years of experience; I'm just trying to understand why this alternative approach is not used.

Jerry

-- Have You Seen This? --
Re: spi or no spi [Re: BRoberts] #28178
01/29/04 11:46 PM
01/29/04 11:46 PM
samevans Offline
enthusiast
samevans  Offline
enthusiast

OK Bill,
Explain something to me.
ALL Supercats, SCs and ARCs were and are sold WITHOUT A STANDARD SPINNAKER.
How long has Aquarius even offered the OPTIONAL SPINNAKER?
You told us that to make the ACR 22, you merely added two feet to the bows of the old SC20.
You have continually stated that a spinnaker boat MUST have daggerboards relocated and different rudders in order to handle the change in sail CE.
How is it that your boats are immune to that "Bill's law of physics"?
Is Aquarius selling unbalanced, poorly designed boats which need a spinnaker or unbalanced, poorly designed boats which aren't designed for a spinnaker?
Are your boats designed for spinnakers or not?

P.S. You never have told us the name of the other "boardless 17foot beachcat" that yours is so much better and faster than.

Re: Spi + planing hull = ? [Re: BRoberts] #28179
01/30/04 12:20 AM
01/30/04 12:20 AM
South Carolina
Jake Offline