09/09/04 02:00 PM
09/09/04 02:00 PM
Virginia Beach
Sunvista Offline OP
journeyman
Sunvista  Offline OP
journeyman

Virginia Beach
Hi all. New user here. I bought a 1982 Hobie 16 that experiences a lot of weather helm. I found and downloaded a rudder adjustment procedure here at Cat Sailor. Coincidently the procedure is indicated for 1982 models. The problem is that my rudder castings don't have either the fore/aft rudder adjustment screw nor the tiller take up screw on top of the rudder arm. Did Hobie stop using these adjustments at some point? Or was my boat built before they actually started using them? Anyway, how does one eliminate the excess helm? My boat has the high performance (black) rudders if that makes any difference. As a newbie I hope this isn't an FAQ. I did a search first and found nothing. Thanks.

-- Have You Seen This? --
Re: H16 rudder adjustment [Re: Sunvista] #37859
09/09/04 06:06 PM
09/09/04 06:06 PM
California
mmiller Offline
veteran
mmiller  Offline
veteran

California
Take a look at the FAQ on the Hobie Cat forums about rudder cams first. It is possible that the rudders are just not staying locked down properly. http://www.hobiecat.com/community/viewtopic.php?t=467

Also check rudder alignment in the direction of travel. Proper rudder alignment would be 1/8" to 1/4" toe-in on a 14 or 16. This is measured with the rudders down. Measure leading edge to leading edge and then trailing edge to trailing edge. The front (toe) should be closer together than the trailing edge. Measure at about the little hump on the leading edge and straight back from there for the trailing edge. It is always possible that the rudders are actually mounted on the reverse hulls. That causes extreme toe-in problems. Look at the upper casting / arms to be sure they angle in towards the boats centerline when the rudders are in alignment with the hulls.