04/11/05 02:02 PM
04/11/05 02:02 PM
Ontario, Canada
Captain_Dave Offline OP
enthusiast
Captain_Dave  Offline OP
enthusiast

Ontario, Canada
I am getting ready to put new sails on my H16 1977. The boat is a total refit/restoration and needs to be beautiful. Being race legal is not a concern for me, nor is re-sale value of the boat/sails. However, I am looking to find great sails at a good price. As a newbie, I am somewhat intimidated by this purchase and have a few questions:(1) Where is a good place to order from? (2) What will the sails NOT come with (within reason) that will be needed to use them...ie, are the clew plates included? (3) Should I get new battens with new caps and pocket protectors as well, or are the old ones fine? (4) Should I just buy from Hobie to get the best sails or is that really not necessary if I know I will never race?

Anything else I haven`t considered? ...I could use the help.

Thanks

-- Have You Seen This? --
Re: New sails? [Re: Captain_Dave] #47312
04/11/05 09:32 PM
04/11/05 09:32 PM
Dauphin, Manitoba
Ngree Offline
Ngree  Offline

Dauphin, Manitoba
I've had a '81 hobie for 4 years and last year noticed some pretty rough spots on the boat, so last spring me and the wife decided to repaint the hulls and get new(er) sails. The hulls got painted white, a big improvement over the funky gold/orange they used to be, and any sail color would match if we could find a good set of used sails. I looked for a couple months and found a few reasonable deals on some sails, some aftermarket, some with older color schemes ($600-900 cdn). But the new Hobie sails were a heavier cloth, and I need a stronger sail here in Manitoba, and the colors were appealing, so we went that way. When we put them on the boat I could see what I was missing - what a performance increase! Easier to control the boat, the balance changed a bit, but trimming the sails seemed so much more intuitive now. I don't race, just cruise and thrill ride.