Old wooden/glass F16???? #59867
10/27/05 08:43 PM
10/27/05 08:43 PM
001_dup2 Offline OP
stranger
001_dup2  Offline OP
stranger

Hi Guys

I am new to the F16 page and am after your advice.
I am just getting back into sailin after about 5 years at Uni and working my way into a decent job.

I have purchased "the taipan" 001. I stole it for $2700.00 or so I thought. A new rig, front beam, Ashby sail (big and full for heavy sloop)and alot of work later I have a still good looking tight and stiff 4.9.

I weigh in at just on 100Kg and sail cat rigged (love the big sail). The F16 really appeals to me but I am hanging back for too reasons.

1. I need to gte back into things and working a kite would absolutly nacker me at the moment.

2. Would the old hulls stand up to a kite. I see the mossies doing OK with them????? or are they new mossies

Your thoughts on number 2. mostly please.
I am starting to sail at Humpybong in Brisbane any F16 in the area???

Cheers

--Advertisement--
Re: Old wooden/glass F16???? [Re: 001_dup2] #59868
10/27/05 09:52 PM
10/27/05 09:52 PM
Western Australia
Stewart Offline
old hand
Stewart  Offline
old hand

Western Australia
I dont see any issues with an old wooden hull handling the loads.
If the ply is sound and hulls dont flex you should be fine..

Stewart

Re: Old wooden/glass F16???? [Re: 001_dup2] #59869
10/27/05 09:57 PM
10/27/05 09:57 PM
South Australia
Darryl_Barrett Offline
old hand
Darryl_Barrett  Offline
old hand

South Australia