Hop To
part painting #7790
06/12/02 01:30 PM
06/12/02 01:30 PM
South Florida
89umiamiH16 Offline OP
89umiamiH16  Offline OP

South Florida
sorry to ask so many questions, i'm a newbie and i appreciate the info from those of you more experienced. i'm not into racing, just cruising so the asthetics of my boat are as important to me as the performance. is there anyway i can paint my aluminum rudder/tiller parts to be black like the newer hobies. what grade of paint am i looking at, where can i get it and how long should i expect it to last? what do i need to do as far as prepping goes? and any other info you think would be helpful. thx again.

justin

um engineering student

biscayne bay & deering estate cat sailor

justin um engineering student my H16 is older than i am
-- Have You Seen This? --
Re: part painting [Re: 89umiamiH16] #7791
06/12/02 05:17 PM
06/12/02 05:17 PM

A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A

I would just use flat black rustoleum spray paint. If you prep the bare metal surfaces correctly and take your time it would probably last a few years and it is cheap! Easy to touch up as well.

Re: part painting #7792
06/13/02 07:12 AM
06/13/02 07:12 AM
South Florida
89umiamiH16 Offline OP
89umiamiH16  Offline OP

South Florida
what should i do to the metal before i paint it? should i put a primer coat?

Re: part painting [Re: 89umiamiH16] #7793
06/13/02 08:07 AM
06/13/02 08:07 AM

A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A

Follow the instructions on the paint can. Lightly sand the parts with 150 grit sand paper for good adhesion. then I would wipe every thing you are going to paint with denatured alcohol to remove any oily residues. It will probably take 2 coats. I think I am going to do this to mine too.

Re: part painting #7794
06/13/02 08:09 AM
06/13/02 08:09 AM
South Florida
89umiamiH16 Offline OP
89umiamiH16  Offline OP

South Florida
thanks for the help. can't wait to try it.

Re: part painting [Re: 89umiamiH16] #7795