Catsailor.com

what kind of boat do I have??

Posted By: beeno

what kind of boat do I have?? - 07/22/09 10:48 PM

Hi, My neighbor gave me this cat and I dont have a clue what kind it is.. That being said I dont have a clue about sailing either, I have never been on a sailboat in my life. Anyways can anyone tell me what kind of boat it is and around what year?

Attached picture snc00248i.jpg
Attached picture SNC00244.jpg
Posted By: Timbo

Re: what kind of boat do I have?? - 07/22/09 10:52 PM

What country is the boat from? It looks like an old Aqua Cat (a US boat) to me, but I'm no expert on old Aqua Cats.

Also, do you have the sails? They might have an emblem on them somewhere that will help identify it.

Welcome to Catsailor, you came to the right place, someone here will know what it is.

Re: what kind of boat do I have?? - 07/22/09 10:55 PM

Its from the US as far as I know. Thanks I'll look up some pictures of some aqua cats

Re: what kind of boat do I have?? - 07/22/09 10:57 PM

I dont have the sails right now. The ladys son has the sails and is suppose to bring them over sometime within the next few days
Posted By: FasterDamnit

Re: what kind of boat do I have?? - 07/22/09 11:58 PM

Looks like Venture Cat 15.

Re: what kind of boat do I have?? - 07/23/09 01:07 AM

i looked up the venture cat and I think you may be right thanks
Posted By: davefarmer

Re: what kind of boat do I have?? - 07/23/09 01:21 AM

There must be two distinct styles of Venture 15 then, 'cause I had one that had noticable pylons molded into the hulls to rais the tramp, much more rocker, and a forward crossbeam at the bows.

Dave
Posted By: mbounds

Re: what kind of boat do I have?? - 07/23/09 01:34 AM

It's not a Venture Cat.

At first, I though it might be a Trac 16, but it's not that, either.

Re: what kind of boat do I have?? - 07/23/09 01:35 AM

like this one?
This is the one that looks like the one that was given to me. venture 15