Catsailor.com

New member looking for advice, A-Class?

Posted By: frozencdn

New member looking for advice, A-Class? - 01/07/11 07:31 PM

I sail Lake Winnipeg and Pelican Lake in Manitoba Canada. I grew up on Lake Winnipeg sailing a 16 foot Sea Spray. I still have her but just for sentimental reasons. Not much worth repairing.
I am self taught and love the water. I have nearly no fear and am used to gusty unpredictable wind. Nothing like a prairie tornado to stir up a lake in a hurry.
I want the fastest boat I can set up myself. I thought that would be a tiger but had never looked because it wasn’t time. It is now. I want to spend about 10K. I will never race this boat. If I go that way, I will reinvest in a winner.
Can I trailer an F-18 and set it up myself? I am 6 foot 200 pounds but over 40 and don’t want to put out my back to go for a sail. The more boats I learn about the more confused I get. I need to start with; can I get the boat set up and in the water by myself if I need to.
Is a used A-Class out of my range at 10?K in North America? I will travel to bring home the boat I want. There is a used 2007 Geltek for 17K on USACA. This might be the boat I want if I get obsessed but for now I just want fast, fast fast.
Sorry for the run on and thanks in advance for all advice
Posted By: ThunderMuffin

Re: New member looking for advice, A-Class? - 01/07/11 07:35 PM

I'd actually go for an F16 - since you aren't going to race but you want speed... the F16 offers the spinnaker option for you and is pretty light.
Posted By: David Ingram

Re: New member looking for advice, A-Class? - 01/07/11 08:34 PM

Make sure you look at the Hobie 16 too. You'll be 15 minutes from ignition off to getting wet. Plus they are everywhere, and won't break your back.
Posted By: pgp

Re: New member looking for advice, A-Class? - 01/07/11 08:44 PM

I've never heard of anyone suffering a broken back sailing an F16. But, under spinnaker it is a handfull for one person.