Catsailor.com

What cat is the right one for me ?

Posted By: Jan Bhauge

What cat is the right one for me ? - 04/13/14 02:14 PM

Hi
I'am new into cat sailing but I have been windsurfing for 20 years now. I have newer been sailling a Cat or a monohull before so this cat will be my first, but which one should it be. I will be sailing the cat on the local lake where the wind is 6 to 14 knots most of the time, but of course there will also be days with more wind but then I would be go windsurfing...
I would be sailing the cat singlehanded and my weight is 84 kg, what cat can give my the same fun as my windsurfers in low wind ?
Best regards Jan
Posted By: northsea junkie

Re: What cat is the right one for me ? - 04/13/14 03:02 PM

Hi Jan,

Because you are used to a small windsurfboard, I would say for starting, definitly the good old-fashioned Hobie-14.

You can buy a very good occasion for 1000 euro or less and for learning purposes it's ideal. When you master a H14 you can sail later everything else. Because y've learned to react quickly and feel the boat and the wind like you are used with windsurfing.

Succes with your quest.

Re: What cat is the right one for me ? - 04/13/14 03:04 PM

I found a Hobie 14 and a Hobie 14 Turbo and I also found a Prindle 16, which one to go for?

Re: What cat is the right one for me ? - 04/13/14 03:16 PM

Hobie 14 turbo has a jib (front-sail) which the normal 14 hasn't. So I would always pick the turbo.

The Prindle16 is for singlehanded sailing on the heavy side. Only if you plan to take most of the times someone with you, that would be a possible choice.

You can also start searching for a Prindle15 ( with jib) which I have sailed many,many years. I'm really a big fan of this cat.

(as the forum already knows).

Re: What cat is the right one for me ? - 04/13/14 03:32 PM

The Hobie 14 is more heavy than the Prindle 16, that's not any go for lightwind sailing I think. But is my 85 kg to light for a Prindle 16 ?
Posted By: TEAMVMG