Catsailor.com

bifocal sunglasses

Posted By: carlbohannon

bifocal sunglasses - 02/13/06 07:09 PM

There was a discussion earliar, that included bifocal sunglasses ( for those of us that can't read their sailing watch anymore) If you are in the Houston area, the Windsurfing shop on 2094 (south side of Clear Lake) stocks some. They seemed expensive, ~$150 for polarized. But I just paid $220( with insurance) to have a set of Carrea's made for me. So, they may be a better deal than I thought.
Posted By: hobiegary

Re: bifocal sunglasses - 02/13/06 07:27 PM

I saw some bifocal polorized tinted safety glasses at a Sears outlet store/repair shop. I think they were less than $20.

GARY
Posted By: hobiegary

Perhaps a better option for reading-sun-glasses - 02/13/06 07:36 PM

Be sure to give Optix 20/20 stick-ons a look.

GARY
Posted By: Jamie Diamond

Re: bifocal sunglasses - 02/13/06 11:59 PM

I have been wearing bifocal sunglasses for 2 years now. Best thing since snuffer launched spinnakers. I get prescription (I'm nearsited) sunglasses , polarized (for sailing), bifocals (I can't see near anymore), in a Rayban Wayfarer frame (very tough plastic frame). I was really surprised how much I like them, and not just for sailing. I wouldn't have been willing to pay as much before I had them. Having now experienced them they are "worth" more to me.
Posted By: mbounds

Re: bifocal sunglasses - 02/14/06 03:43 AM

Jamie's gettin' old . . . !

/Where'd you get those glasses . . . ?
Posted By: Jamie Diamond

Re: bifocal sunglasses - 02/14/06 03:57 AM

Better than the other options.
Posted By: Jake

Re: bifocal sunglasses - 02/14/06 01:18 PM

That's better than getting young?