Catsailor.com

Newbie Trap Harness Question

Posted By: alan_ellis

Newbie Trap Harness Question - 04/10/06 05:46 PM

Hello, I'm very new to cat sailing. I recently bought a 1985 Hobie 16 (for a song) which is in excellent condition. It's pretty much ready to sail but I need a trapeze harness. I've checked on Murrays.com and looked at the various harnesses but there are several different models and styles. My sailing is going to be on a 2500 acre lake so I probably won't be out on trap for long periods of time before I have to change direction. Anyway, I need a recommendation for a harness for the wife and I. I appreciate all responses and help. Oh, here's a pic of my boat.

http://www.jackieandalan.com/images/hobie16.jpg

Alan
Posted By: hrtsailor

Re: Newbie Trap Harness Question - 04/10/06 05:55 PM

Alan,

I am almost sorry to hear that you got an '85 H-16 for a low price since I own one and don't want the price to go down . I use the standard Hobie harness that has the full shoulder straps. I find it is much more comfortable than the so called "butt bucket". You may plan to just sail on the small lake but my guess is that you will trailer the boat to other bodies of water once you get used to it. You will enjoy it. I bought my boat new in '85 and have been sailing it for 21 years.

Howard
Posted By: deq204

Re: Newbie Trap Harness Question - 04/10/06 05:58 PM

Hi - and welcome to the exciting world of Hobie Cat sailing. For what it's worth, I really like the magic Marine Pro Mesh harness:

http://www.magicmarinegear.com/m/_general/p_harn.asp

[Linked Image]

my $.02

Re: Newbie Trap Harness Question - 04/10/06 06:01 PM

Howard,

Thanks for the info. I paid $850 with trailer and extra sails. It has been parked in an enclosed barn for 7 years. I think the guy just wanted to get rid of it. I obliged him.

AE

Re: Newbie Trap Harness Question - 04/10/06 06:05 PM