10/09/02 11:04 AM
10/09/02 11:04 AM

A
Anonymous OP
Unregistered
Anonymous OP
Unregistered
A

Hello, I just started my account here, and wanted to ask some questions.

I am very very new to sailing. I would like to find out about the local sailing areas, and get some recommendations about catamaran sailing instructors, boats and clubs. A friend volunteered to show me how to sail, but neither of us has a boat. Which brings me to another question, aside from buying a new Hobie Cat, any recommendations on cat's. I only know of hobie cat, and would like to get my own catamaran (Hobie C at suggested a Hobie 16), eventually and I am in no rush. The cat should be able to handle two people with a combined weight of 350 lbs. so that we can get out and zip around in the water, but will not likely outgrow the boat for several years.

Thanks for any help if you are able. I would like to get started in sailing. I have just started looking and I like what I see.

Thanks.

--Advertisement--
Re: Too new to Catamaran #11505
10/09/02 08:45 PM
10/09/02 08:45 PM
Long Island, NY
Ed Norris Offline
enthusiast
Ed Norris  Offline
enthusiast

Long Island, NY
Hi,

There're three major geographical divisions to LI sailing, as you probably already know. North Shore, South Shore (mianly the Great South Bay) and East End, which is the Peconic Bays, Shelter Island Sound, Gardiner's Bay, Block Island Sound, etc etc. Steve Bellavia knows more about the East End than I; I'll leave that to him.

I bet "Bob T" can tell us about the North Shore, I'd sure like to know more, too...