Beach Access in Miami #180374
05/31/09 12:58 PM
05/31/09 12:58 PM
Miami, FL
John McKnight Offline OP
John McKnight  Offline OP

Miami, FL
Beach Access in Miami

Saturday, May 9, 2009, was a bellwether day for catamaran sailing in Miami. For the first time ever, some of the boat owners were unable to get to Hobie Beach to launch their boats. I have been sailing beach cats in Miami for thirty years. I have been launching from Hobie Beach all those years. Originally, Hobie Beach was just a hot, dusty wide spot on Virginia Key along the Rickenbacker Causeway which nobody else wanted to use. Catamaran owners started launching here sometime in the late 70s. I was told before I arrived in Miami, during the 60s and 70s that all the catamaran owners would launch from Hobie Island. Hobie Island is the first island on the causeway before you cross over the Powell Bridge. I am told it was not unusual to have 50 to 100 catamaran lined up on the island on a good weekend. There is even a sign designating it as Hobie Island. The Hobie Beach on Virginia Key was wider and there were no trees to interfere with access to the water. The sand was also better than on Hobie Island. So, Hobie Beach became "the place" for beach cats in Miami, and it has been that way for the past 35 years. Some years we called the beach Prindle Beach. We would hold a volleyball game each year between the Hobie Fleet and the Prindle Fleet. The winner of the volleyball game got naming rights to the beach for the following year. But the name Hobie Beach has endured. To many non-sailors, Hobie Cats have become synonymous with beach cats.