Forum Index |  Albums |  Classified Ads |  Catamarans For Sale |  Calendar |  Submit Events
Announcements
New Discussions
Adding a Jib to a Mossie
by Gary Fleming. 12/07/17 11:29 PM
F101 finally in production
by Jake. 12/05/17 06:49 PM
Tradewinds Regatta?
by samc99us. 12/05/17 04:30 PM
Easy way to really learn the Racing Rules
by Mike Fahle. 11/28/17 07:30 AM
Dynema trap lines diameter?
by mmadge. 11/25/17 08:10 AM
foiling chasing UFO
by northsea junkie. 11/23/17 03:12 AM
New Mystere 4.3 in Central Florida
by Mike Fahle. 11/22/17 04:46 PM
36th America's Cup
by waterbug_wpb. 11/21/17 12:10 PM
Fatality During Clipper Race
by Redtwin. 11/20/17 07:56 AM
--Advertisement--
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#260376 - 06/13/13 08:48 PM Attach trapeze handle to Dyneema  
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 175
Greg/Debra Offline
member
Greg/Debra  Offline
member

Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 175
Grafton, NSW
I have bought a roll of Dyneema to make some new trapeze "wires". The splicing looks straight forward, but how do I fit the trapeze handle? On SS wire one just has a single swage or stop crimped on the wire to position the handle. How is it done with Dyneema?

Thanks,
Greg.


1140 Gadfly
1434 J.I.B.E.
1727 Atreus
-- Have You Seen This? --
#260381 - 06/14/13 04:47 AM Re: Attach trapeze handle to Dyneema [Re: Greg/Debra]  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Scarecrow
Unregistered


You thread the line through the handle and splice on a thimble. Then pull the handle down over the splice till it sits on the thimble.

#260416 - 06/15/13 02:58 AM Re: Attach trapeze handle to Dyneema [Re: Greg/Debra]  
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 175
Greg/Debra Offline
member
Greg/Debra  Offline
member

Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 175
Grafton, NSW
Many thanks to Scarecrow for the advice.

Let me see if I have this right; splice on a thimble, then instead of cutting off the tail, continue it down to the dog-bone, and terminate it there with another thimble splice?


1140 Gadfly
1434 J.I.B.E.
1727 Atreus
#260423 - 06/15/13 12:30 PM Re: Attach trapeze handle to Dyneema [Re: Greg/Debra]  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Scarecrow
Unregistered


You could do that but its not what I meant. Will take a photo at the club today.

#260428 - 06/16/13 01:54 AM Re: Attach trapeze handle to Dyneema [Re: Greg/Debra]  
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 175
Greg/Debra Offline
member
Greg/Debra  Offline
member

Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 175
Grafton, NSW
Thanks, I look forward to seeing the photo.


1140 Gadfly
1434 J.I.B.E.
1727 Atreus
#260437 - 06/16/13 05:17 PM Re: Attach trapeze handle to Dyneema [Re: Greg/Debra]  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Scarecrow
Unregistered


I got a bit distracted when doing these and forgot to go back and shoot any more.

As mentioned above. Thread the trap line through the handle then splice in a thimble using a locking eye splice and then pull the handle back down over the splice. As shown below I just run the retracting portion of the trap wire through the eye, most people will add a small block.

[Linked Image]

#260440 - 06/16/13 06:56 PM Re: Attach trapeze handle to Dyneema [Re: Greg/Debra]  
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 175
Greg/Debra Offline
member
Greg/Debra  Offline
member

Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 175
Grafton, NSW
Thanks Scarecrow for the photos, and I can see that the handle sits on the eye splice at the end of the Dyneema. And it appears that the dog-bone is tied on with cord which passes through the thimble, and then joins onto bungee cord. When one attaches the dog-bone to the harness, the cord pulls through the thimble until it is stopped at the thimble by the red knob.

Is this correct? I haven't seen this setup before. I would imagine that having the dog-bone up high like that would make hooking on easier?

Last edited by gim; 06/17/13 02:06 AM.

1140 Gadfly
1434 J.I.B.E.
1727 Atreus
#260441 - 06/16/13 08:53 PM Re: Attach trapeze handle to Dyneema [Re: Greg/Debra]  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Scarecrow
Unregistered


That's correct, it is a pretty standard cat setup as it keeps upwards pressure on the dogbone so you don't come unhooked. Google image "catamaran trapeze" and you'll see plenty of similar photos.

#260442 - 06/17/13 02:07 AM Re: Attach trapeze handle to Dyneema [Re: Greg/Debra]  
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 175
Greg/Debra Offline
member
Greg/Debra  Offline
member

Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 175
Grafton, NSW
OK, I get it now, and will put something similar on my boat. Many thanks to Scarecrow.


1140 Gadfly
1434 J.I.B.E.
1727 Atreus

Moderated by  Damon Linkous 

Search

Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 18 guests, and 287 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newest Members
NilsonPardal, corrinezhan, pussycatcatman, Shotsailor, PointDume
7727 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Jake 6
Timbo 3
P.M. 2
Forum Statistics
Forums27
Topics22,268
Posts266,191
Members7,727
Most Online554
May 12th, 2017
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.007s Queries: 15 (0.002s) Memory: 0.7999 MB (Peak: 0.9658 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-12-16 09:16:38 UTC