Hop To
Ugly day #74122
05/03/06 06:15 PM
05/03/06 06:15 PM
Upstate, South Carolina
SunnyZ Offline OP
SunnyZ  Offline OP

Upstate, South Carolina
I am still learning to sail and for my sixth day on a boat yesterday my pal David let me take a Sunfish out. Okay, this was the first time I have been on anything alone and I had a lot of fun but there were several times that it was so ugly I just had to throw my head back and laugh. I really need some cooperation from mother nature at this point. I need the wind at more than 4mph to come from one direction constantly and not change. Is that so much to ask? This lake has wind jumping around all over it. I was supposed to go around upwind and downwind marks... It was not pretty. LOL. I would be just sailing off trying to get up enough speed to tack laughing the whole way as I go in completely the wrong direction. I can't tell you how many times I ended up in irons.

But in the end, I did learn more about boat handling in those couple of hours than all of the reading about it I could possibly do...And I don't care how ugly it looked...it was fun. If it were easy, I would hate it.

-- Have You Seen This? --
Re: Ugly day [Re: SunnyZ] #74123
05/03/06 07:45 PM
05/03/06 07:45 PM
F
fin. Offline
Carpal Tunnel
fin.  Offline
Carpal Tunnel
F

I think there is a suction cup type wind indicator for Sunfish. It would be a big help.

Re: Ugly day [Re: fin.] #74124
05/03/06 08:07 PM
05/03/06 08:07 PM
2017 F18 Americas Site
Dan_Delave Offline
old hand
Dan_Delave  Offline
old hand

2017 F18 Americas Site
Wendy:

Most of us have been there. Some may not remember as it was so far back.

Here is the rub: To learn to sail you have to have light wind so as not to be overpowered. With light wind comes the kind of conditions you are talking about.

If you can learn sail successfully in light winds you will be way ahead of me. I do have enough patience for floating around looking for wind.

Best of luck to you.

Later,
Dan