10/04/03 08:03 PM
10/04/03 08:03 PM
South West England
Andy_Lyne Offline OP
stranger
Andy_Lyne  Offline OP
stranger

South West England
OK, I have put on my flack jacket for this one!!

I have attached a rather basic drawing of a catamaran I am attempting to build with my kids.

Not being an engineer, I could do with some advice on the size of box section aluminium tubing I could get away with as I am keen to keep weight down to a sensible minimum.

The cross beams will be about 5'6" across, the overall boat length is 12' and I plan to use approximately a 10square metre windsurf rig. This is really meant to be a single hander, or one adult plus one child.

Looking at the dimensions I was thinking I could use 3' box section with a 3mm wall thickness. The smaller sections at the end of each cross beam would be 2.5' box section (these are the pieces that fit into the beams running along the length of the hull.)

I am wondering however if I could get away with 2.5' box section for the main beams?

Any suggestions or advice on any other aspect of my project would be appreciated. (yes, very funny, I meant constructive advice )

Thanks
Andy

Attached Files
24977-cat.JPG (422 downloads)
-- Have You Seen This? --
Re: Advice on Cat design [Re: Andy_Lyne] #24794
10/04/03 08:40 PM
10/04/03 08:40 PM
P
phill Offline
veteran
phill  Offline
veteran
P

Andy,
If the beams were attached directly to the hull you could get away with beams 50mm x 50mm with a 2mm wall.
As with the Glider in the attached pic. It is 13ft long and a similar all up sail area.

The 14ft Paper Tiger has 50x50mm beams with 3mm wall and 100sq ft mainsail.

Both boats have a min platform weight of 50kg.

Once you put your beams on posts you create a lot of problems that will add weight to the platform without much benefit. My personal view is you would be better saving the weight.

Then that is just my personal opinion.

Regards,
Phill

Attached Files
24978-glider.jpg (263 downloads)