You are correct, both boats were on a beat (the shoal ran parallel to the port layline). The shoal was shallower than what the Red boat's draft requirements so it was a continuing obstruction (rule 18 does apply). Red had two avenue's available to them to avoid the blue boat - Duck them or slow down. They could not tack due to the water depth. Since they could not tack because of an obstruction, does that mean that rule 14 does not apply?
First of all, race committee should be flogged for setting a course with an obstruction on the layline.
That said, RRS 18.5 "Passing a Continuing Obstruction" does not apply for 2 reasons:
1) RRS 18.5 reads "While boats are passing a continuing obstruction...". Note the plural "boats". Only one boat is passing a continuing obstruction here -- the other is not. More importantly:
2) RRS 18.1 states "Rule 18... does not apply...while the boats are on opposite tacks... on a beat to windward", so 18.5 does not come into play at all.
RRS 10 "On Opposite Tacks" and RRS 14 "Avoiding Contact" both apply.
The port tack boat (red) was obligated to keep clear under RRS 10, and to avoid contact under RRS 14. In this scenerio, blue had to take avoiding action (tack). Therefore, red did not keep clear.
The starboard tack boat (blue) was obligated to avoid contact under RRS 14. Blue fulfilled that obligation by taking avoiding action (tacking).
If this situation came to me in a valid protest, I would rule that red broke RRS 10 and disqualify her under RRS 64.1.
Red could have:
1) slowed down and let blue cross,
2) ducked blue, or
3) exonerated herself under RRS 44.1
Regards,
Eric