Since last week when I first posted on Tami's thread about this rule change I've had time to read carefully and reflect on this section of rules .... talk to some knowledgable sailors (along w/ a beverage or two to "grease the wheels") and develope an interpitation of these revised rules that I hope is correct. I'm sure if I'm not you Ladies and Gentlemen will inform me of my errors in thought.
I've come to the conclusion that Mark's interpetation is basically correct ..... though I DO disagree w/ the statement "the a stardboard tacker can take ALL the room they need". In this scenerio the actions starboard tack boat is governed/constained by three rules: 18.2b,18.2c and 18.4
Rule 18.2b: Gives/establishes the starboard boat's rights to an "Inside Overlap" over the port tack boats ....
Rule 18.4: Explains the manor in which the starboard tack boat must round the mark ... "by sailing her "proper course" .... which basically states that the starboard tack boat must round the fastest way possible for them ... and the starboard tack boat gets to choose what "they" think that course is, not the port tack boats.
BUT .... Read rule 18.2c very carefully as they have added a line to it.
Rule 18.2c now states: ... that if an boat that has established an inside overlap passes outside the "zone" at any point during the rounding that boat loses their rights to an inside overlap.
So if starboard drives through the "Zone" (let's call it a two boat length for this scenerio) and does not complete her gybe inside that circle ... then that boat has no rights to an "Inside Overlap" .... a port tack boat that is quick in dive inside, establish a NEW inside overlap forcing the (origonal starboard tack boat) now on Port tack to give them room ..... So this incourages the starboard tack boat to complete their rounding quickly "inside" the zone.
Also this would open Starboard up to other issues if they pass outside the "Zone" ... the rules governing the crossing would revert to Port-Starboard and tacking/gybing "To Close" ... if Starboard tries to gybe in front of a Port tack boat it is possible that starboard will not leave room and opportunity for port to "keep clear"
Now we have all been involved in a drifter w/ a pinwheel from hell at the leeward gate .... And I have a voice that can be heard a mile away (no lie), and if I start hailing you from 100yds away ... :Port Tack boat Sail#XXXX I have an inside overlap on you and WILL require "MARK ROOM" ... and let's say I hail you two more times before I arrive .... there BETTER be room because I've given and allowed you "plenty of time to keep clear" ... so you as the port tack boat better get on your other port tack buddies to slide over and make room at the mark!!!!!
And remember it will be the responsibility of the port tack boat to prove that they could not provide mark room ... all the starboard tack boat has to prove is that you didn't ....
I would slide over and slow down alittle letting the starboard tack boat to come in and if they screw the mark rounding up in the least little bit, I'm going to pounce to the inside ...
So while a starboard layline rounding (on a port course) is legal .... you better bring your "A Game" ... because the sharks will eat you alive if you screw it up. It's not a "high percentage" manuver and you will notice that the "Best sailors" try not to do it.
From car racing .... making two 90degree turns is faster then making one 180degree turn as you must stop/turn 180 degrees, re-accelerate from 0 velocity and regain your momentum .... a 90degree turn allows you to maintain some of your velocity and momentum
I apologize for my MISS-INTERPITATIONS last week ... it took me some time to analyze the scenerio to a conclusion that I hope is correct.
And THANKS to Mark Schnieder for the "heated and prolong" 1 1/2 hour conversation/discussion we had over this change in the rules .... (so no Mark, the starboard boat can not take "ALL THE ROOM" they wish but must sail a "Proper Course" and remain inside the Zone to maintain their "Inside Overlap" ... but Yes, with-in those criteria Starboard can do as they wish .... and Port must "Keep Clear" .... )
RACE SMART ...
Sail Flat, Sail Fast, Sail SAFE
Harry Murphey
H18Mag/#9458, Fleet 54/Div11
P19MX/ #86, CRAC-Open Class