Originally Posted by HMurphey
Jake,

Are you willing to argue with a judge???

SimonP,

Your protest would be DISALLOWED/REJECTED ... because it could never happen .... there is NEVER a ROPE on a boat, it's a LINE!!!! (HaHaHa...)

Hows that fer' SeaLawyerin'......

HarryMurphey


Why? Do you have a different definition that that provided within the RRS? Ok, so maybe not bow and stern, but sailing equipment in a normal position (spin pole, etc.). The line in the water is definitely not a equipment in the normal position.

Quote
Clear Astern and Clear Ahead; Overlap One boat is clear astern of another
when her hull and equipment in normal position are behind a line abeam
from the aftermost point of the other boat’s hull and equipment in normal
position. The other boat is clear ahead. They overlap when neither is clear
astern. However, they also overlap when a boat between them overlaps both. These terms always apply to boats on the same tack. They do not apply to
boats on opposite tacks unless rule 18 applies or both boats are sailing more
than ninety degrees from the true wind.


Jake Kohl