Agree with ding.... no foul

You had time to alter course and avoid starboard and clear ahead... (go find the rule book about your... "the sail is over.. they have completed their tack" reasoning.

HAD he fouled you... YES you should protest... Everybody has to play the same game on the course.... The fact that you protested and take him to the room if he doesn't acknowledge with circles will be heard and understood by other class sailors. ... Next cross... he will add the proper safety factor into his decision making.... for ALL of the cats on the course.

(I still hear about the xyz#$%$^ Lightning (in their district championship) fouling a top of the fleet A class sailor (in their high point regatta) from two years ago. Why a downwind crossing should be remembered after two years.... Is the reason you should protest... get the issue resolved publicly and completely.


crac.sailregattas.com