After rounding the offset mark NED 044 was third. Her spinaker fell down in water, her bow
dived breaking spinaker pool. NED 044 was on close hauled course on starboard tack without
speed six boat lenghts from the offset mark. After FRA 039 cleared the offset mark she was on
colission course with NED 044 and overlapped to leeward of USA 104, both of them on
starboard tack. FRA 039 did not hoist her spinaker. USA 104 bore away. There was contact
with damage between FRA 039 port floater bow and NED 044 starboard side of starboard
floater. NED 044 has two holes on starboard side of starboard floater, one smaller on the bow
and one bigger one meter back.
Conclusion: By not keeping clear of FRA 039 and bearing off, USA 104 infringed rule 11 causing FRA 039
to hit NED 044. FRA 039 infringed rule 11 and 14 but is exonerated under rule 64.1 (a) since
she was compelled to break a rule by USA 104.
So my take: Sara/JC hoisted and couldn't keep height with the spi flying to keep from going down on NED and causing a chain of contact.