Originally Posted by mbounds
Rule 22.2 is in Part 2, therefore you may take a penalty if you break it.

Correct.

Originally Posted by brucat
One thing I don't see mentioned here is emphasis on the fact that "penalty" turns are meant to be just that. They must be in addition to (i.e. not inclusive of) any turns that you would make to sail around the course.

Although the sentiment is appealing, I don't see anything in the rules saying that a turn may not be taken around a mark, nor that it must be contrary to a boat's proper course.

What I do see is ISAF Case 108 which states "Rule 44.2 does not require a boat that takes a One-Turn Penalty to complete a full 360° turn, or a turn of any particular number of degrees, and it does not prohibit taking the penalty while making another manoeuvre, such as rounding the mark".

One of the diagrams in Case 108 shows a boat touching a windward mark on port tack, and then taking a penalty turn (consisting of a tack and a gybe) around the mark and says:

"In each illustrated situation she takes a One-Turn Penalty that complies with rule 44.2, provided that
(a) as soon as possible, and before beginning her penalty turn, she sails well clear of any other boats;
(b) when she begins her penalty turn she is no longer touching the
mark; and
(c) she makes her penalty turn promptly after she is clear of other boats.
...
All four illustrated turns comply with rule 28.2. Provided that the string representing the boat’s track when drawn taut lies on the mark’s required side...
".

So, I must disagree.

Regards,
Eric