I'm looking for some insight regarding the rules during a particular starting situation.

If Boat A is approaching the starting line, and a second boat, Boat B establishes an overlap to leeward of Boat A from behind, is Boat B allowed to luff A. If so, how much?

Seems that the following rules do/may apply:

11- When boats are on the same tack and overlapped, a windward boat shall keep clear of a leeward boat.

15- When a boat acquires right of way, she shall initially give the other boat room to keep clear, unless she acquires right of way because of the other boat's actions.

16.1- When a right of way boat changes course, she shall give the other boat room to keep clear.

17.1- If a boat clear astern becomes overlapped within two of her hull lengths to leeward of a boat on the same tack, she shall not sail above her proper course while they remain overlapped within that distance.


Seems to me that 17.1 would not apply because there is no proper course before a start. From the remaining rules, I would think that the leeward boat could luff at will as long as there is room for the windward boat to react. Also, room is the space required to react promplty in a seamanlike way for the given conditions- so the luff could be quite fast.

Any opinions?

sm