[quote
I've seen ONLY one situation (yesterday) where a penalty was clearly applied incorrectly. Two of us were approaching the gate sailing downwind, I was on port and there was a starboard tacker. I wanted the left mark and gybed about 6 boat lengths away for it and clear of a starboard boat. The starboard boat decided he wanted the right end of the gate and gybed. We collided while we were both under "computer control" nearing the end of our gybes. We had both clearly passed dead down wind and I was on starboard and the other boat now on port - but I was shown in black and penalized because we were both still in a gybing manuever...That's not a big deal but if you see an easy workaround....
[/quote]
Jake
Rule 13 applies only while tacking, and is not relevant to gybing situations. The scenario described, which also happened to me a while ago, probably relates to rule 16, keeping clear: "when a right of way boat changes course, she shall give the other boat room to keep clear". However, since both were changing course together, and in limited control, that definately seems like a scenario deemed for stormy jury deliberations, and therefore one to avoid (my personal lesson learned)
I love the way tacticat has improved my understanding of the rules, and think that using the rules well is part of the benefits from Tacticat. What does annoy me are the rare occasions where people misuse the loopholes in Tacticat, such as rules 17 and 18