08/18/09 04:33 PM
08/18/09 04:33 PM
qc canada
denis 18 square Offline OP
stranger
denis 18 square  Offline OP
stranger

qc canada
hi to you all, I do own a nacra 18 square equipped with a spinnaker and a square top mainsail with an inter 20 carbon mast. The boat is great but I have a hard time with my pointing ability. I am 250 pounds; to go as fast as the F18, I have to give them at least 5-7 degrees upwind. Getting the leeward hull nose deep in the water help a bit, but that is not enough. What should I look as far as tuning. I have been sailing for 15 years and this is my third boat but the very first unirig. So I guess I am missing something; anyone can help me.

-- Have You Seen This? --
Re: unirig pointing ability [Re: denis 18 square] #188373
08/18/09 05:53 PM
08/18/09 05:53 PM
Looking for a Job, I got credi...
scooby_simon Offline
Hull Flying, Snow Sliding....
scooby_simon  Offline
Hull Flying, Snow Sliding....
Carpal Tunnel

Looking for a Job, I got credi...
how hard are you sheeting the main, how much down hauil. what wind conditions do you suffer most.

we need more info!!!

F16 - GBR 553 - SOLD

I also talk sport here
Re: unirig pointing ability [Re: denis 18 square] #188403
08/19/09 08:18 AM
08/19/09 08:18 AM
Crofton, MD
Chris9 Offline
old hand
Chris9  Offline
old hand

Crofton, MD
In the quest for more info, what are your mast settings, Spreader rake, diamond tension, resutling prebend, and mast rake? Mainsail?

Chris Allen
Nacra 20 Gertie
www.wrcra.org
Re: unirig pointing ability [Re: denis 18 square] #188417
08/19/09 11:40 AM
08/19/09 11:40 AM
uk
TEAMVMG Offline
veteran
TEAMVMG  Offline
veteran

uk
Generally, pointing is all about leach tension.

Paul

teamvmg.weebly.com
Re: unirig pointing ability [Re: denis 18 square] #188430
08/19/09 02:02 PM
08/19/09 02:02 PM
UK
Cheshirecatman Offline
enthusiast
Cheshirecatman  Offline
enthusiast

UK