Hop To
Venture Cat 15 #23237
08/13/03 10:09 AM
08/13/03 10:09 AM
Idaho
Milt Offline OP
Milt  Offline OP

Idaho
I sail a 15' Venture Cat, made in 1972 by MacGregor Yachts. Anyone else have experience with this boat?

This is my second year of sailing, so I'm a newbie, very interested in do-it-yourself modifications and sailing tips and techniques.

Right now I'm modifying my mainsail, putting in reefing points. I hope to start racing next year.

I've turtled my boat once, very hard to right. Had to have a sheriff's boat flip my cat, snapping a shroud and bending the side rails. I've fixed it up and it seems fine, but I sure don't want to turtle it again!

Milt Reynolds Venture Cat 15
-- Have You Seen This? --
Re: Venture Cat 15 [Re: Milt] #23238
08/13/03 11:07 AM
08/13/03 11:07 AM
Québec, Canada
CharlesLeblanc Offline
journeyman
CharlesLeblanc  Offline
journeyman

Québec, Canada
There were two models of venture cat 15 produced by MacGreggor.
The first one had very small hulls and the trampoline was above it like the Hobie 14. The second one had the crossbeams bolted directly on the flat deck on the hull and the hull had a bump (seat!) between the two crossbeams
I think that the older model was better even if it had almost no flottason.

I do have a few pictures of the old model and I owned and restores the latter one. I still have my mast, boom and mainsail from my Venture Cat 15 and I was planning to build an iceboat around it

Understant that these are "project boats" I am having difficulties finding part and informations for my Nacra 5.2 so the Venture Cat will require extranwork to replace key components.

My advice is not to put to much money on the boat and sail it ASAP. If you like it, you can start to upgrade it and put some major repairs on it.

Charles Leblanc Nacra 5.2 #26
Re: Venture Cat 15 [Re: CharlesLeblanc] #23239
08/13/03 12:33 PM
08/13/03 12:33 PM
Idaho
Milt Offline OP
Milt  Offline OP

Idaho
Charles, thanks for the reply.