06/22/11 08:46 AM
Busan, South
busaninter20 Offline OP
stranger
busaninter20  Offline OP
stranger

Busan, South
Hi all!

Been poking around the forum for a while now picking bits up and the time has come to take the plunge and get me a cat!

I am new to cats but have got a little sailing experience but want join the big boys and the fast cats cool

Here in Busan, South Korea there are not many options for someone in my position. There are a few picos and omegas in the marina school and local club, but there are only 4 cats (2 nacras and 2 hobie 16s). One of the Nacras has come up for sale as the guy who owns it hasnt sailed it since he bought it and is leaving the country in feb.

It is a '98 nacra inter 20 and from what i can gather from the owner who bought this cat 1.5 years ago and has not sailed it since he took it out with the last owner, is that 'some things' might need replacing. He doesnt know how to sail it or even set it up properly and i am still novice with cats.

So my question to you is what would probably need replacing? It has been sitting outside with a cover on for a while now, I presume the 1.5 years he has had it.

I presume all standing rigging and lines would need replacing to be on the safe side. How much would this cost? Where could I source this from? The trampoline looks good, no tears or fraying. Not seen the sails on the boat, but had them out and had a quick look at them, they are old and will need replacing next year maybe, if needed how much is it to replace the sails ( i dont need race standard sails, just recreational use). I did notice the spinnaker pole had been repaired at some stage and all the lines were running outside instead of inside of it. How much is that to replace?

the boat itself is in good condition not cracks and damage, just needs cleaning and a bit of TLC, it has got a set of beach wheels and a cover on it.

He is asking 5.5 million won for it (which is about 5,000 USD), does it seem worth it?