B
brobru Offline
addict
brobru  Offline
addict
B

Les,

Thanks for the info on your boards being up on your I-17R

Works that way for me to (..in my winds)

I always wondered, again, I am a driver,..is it possible for the entire I series, ( I-17, I-18 and I-20),..to have the same daggarboard ?

Builders, Designers,...what do you think?

Bruce
St. Croxi

-- Have You Seen This? --
Re: Two centerboard wells [Re: Hakan Frojdh] #28198
01/30/04 06:32 PM
01/30/04 06:32 PM
rbj Offline OP
rbj  Offline OP

Hi Harkan,

Thanks.

You said:
>>The hull needs to be strong where the centerboard well is located

I'd have to agree... except that the hull is already strong where the well is already placed in the aft position on most cats and since the forward position would be close to the main beam, I would guess its already pretty strong there as well so although it might need some reinforcing it shouldn't be a major obstacle...

You also said:
>>Two centerboard wells on each hull means more weight

I'd have to agree... except on long legs of a course or cruise the relatively small amount of additional weight that would be introduced might be easily offset by modestly increased efficiency and drag reduction not to mention that a less fatigued skipper might end up being a better skipper when at the helm for extended periods in these conditions further compensating for slightly increased weight...

And finally you said:
>> The empty well will create turbulence.

I'd have to agree... except in my original post I said:
>> you could use "rubber slats" to automatically seal the bottom of the unused CB trunks to keep flow non-turbulent there as they do on retractable CB windsurf boards