06/27/01 07:40 PM
06/27/01 07:40 PM

A
Anonymous OP
Unregistered
Anonymous OP
Unregistered
A

Hey folks! glad to find this forum again. I've got a problem. I have been sailing for a few years but i seem not to be able to get my Hobie 16 to sail fast enoughm to be competitive in regatta's. Not much fun to finish last every time i go. Enjoy the beer though. I have a 1987 hobie with a crew wgt. of about 350. i have read the books and have lots of knowledge but no sailing 'feel' Can anyone help? Is there a trick or just experience. Are newer boats lighter? Seems we never can point as high as other boats and we are dragging anchor. Any help from you salty hobie 16 sailors?<br><br>

Attached Files
310- (150 downloads)
-- Have You Seen This? --
Re: Slow H-16 #309
06/27/01 09:25 PM
06/27/01 09:25 PM

A
Anonymous OP
Unregistered
Anonymous OP
Unregistered
A

Wow. That's the same question we were asking after 1st day of a regatta last weekend, 9th of 11 boats. Almost every boat could point and move upwind better. Fortunately, the A fleet was pretty large and we took a walk up the beach. Best setup education around, talk to the other crews and look at their boats. A Fleet is ready with answers if you ask nicely.
<br> We'd been running with the sidestays at midpoint on the chainplate, but all the A boats were at using the sidestays at 1-2 holes up from bottom. DOH! Shorter sidestays mean more mast rake. (You might need a 2nd forestay chainplate to get enough length to move this far down on the sidestay plates.) More mast rake means better upwind performance, specifically pointing ability. End result? Next day, a bullet and a 3rd, pulling up to 4th overall for the regatta.