Yes, we've had the discussion. I don't recall a concensus; certainly there is no formal rule.
Any decent SI's will state, or refer to something like "change of equipemnt is not allowed without Ro / Ctte permission".
Changing your config from 1 to 2 up, or 2 to 1 up, is changing your equipment. You are adding or removing a Jib, Spi plus associated rigging and a crew.
I think any Race officer / mamangement team would just laugh at you if you turned up at a regatta (without prior approval, as was grated to Paul Warren at the 2007 event at Mumbles, when Anne could not race Friday) and said, Oh, I'll be racing one up today and 2 up tomorrow......
Have people in the states tried this? No wonder the F18 boys are spitting fire!