Originally Posted by Jake
Originally Posted by Isotope42
Originally Posted by brucat
... a capsized boat may be given a finish position if it drifts across the line because that is a normal position for a dinghy...

A few years back, there was a situation where a laser capsized immediately in front of the finish line, and current carried it across before the sailor righted it. There was some argument as to whether or not capsized was "in normal position", but that discussion missed the point. Take a careful read of the definition of finish:

Quote
A boat finishes when any part of her hull, or crew or equipment in normal position crosses the finishing line...

Note the position of the first comma. "crew" or "equipment" must be in normal position, but the "hull" can be in any position. Therefore the boat in question finished when her hull crossed the finishing line, regardless of being upright or capsized.

I hope that was interesting,
Eric
US SAILING Certified Judge
Member, Area D Appeals Committee


I think you need to read slightly into the intent of that rule to understand it. The intent was to prevent a situation where someone could extend something like a boat hook off the bow and expect to be scored when the boat hook crossed the line. Clearly, a capsized boat isn't gaining any advantage by crossing the line in that manner.


Would a permanent camera mount in front of the spin pole be considered equipment in normal equipment?