Originally Posted by Isotope42
Originally Posted by Jeff.Dusek
...it sounds like boat 2 might be most at fault for not ... providing room for boat 1 to duck.

Take another look at rule 20.2(c). It says:
"The hailed boat shall respond either by tacking as soon as possible, or by immediately replying "You tack" and then giving the hailing boat room to tack and avoid her."

In this scenerio, Boat 2 satisfied rule 20.2(c) by tacking. She is not required to give Boat 1 room to avoid her. In fact, if both boats had tried to duck Boat 3, Boat 1 might have been required to give Boat 2 room to avoid Boat 3 under rule 19.2(b).

Regards,
Eric


Absolutely agree with you about 20.2(c).

The way I was visualizing the scenario is that after 1 and 2 tacked to port, 2 was now a leeward ROW boat and boat 3 was an obstruction to 1 and 2. In that case, boat 2 can choose to duck 3, but if there is overlap she must give 1 room to duck as well (19.2(b)). Again, I think we're saying the same thing, just hard without a diagram!


USF18 Eastern Area Rep
Nacra Infusion USA 753