Hi Scooby,

my understanding is, that if the boat hails for room at a mark or obstruction, regardless of entitlement you must give it to them, you can not push them the wrong side of the mark, even if it doesn't cause a collision.

Tim I forgot to mention this rule to you, I saw it in a "Australian Sailing" rules article regarding downwind finishes and was equaly shocked. It was just before the Sauna Sail an event which sometimes has these situations occur which is why I meant to mention it. I probably still have it some where, I am sure it discussed scenarios not just the rule.

Regards Gary.