09/05/02 11:20 AM
09/05/02 11:20 AM
San Ramon, CA
Curt Offline OP
stranger
Curt  Offline OP
stranger

San Ramon, CA
I'm new to the H16 and am wondering what the rule of thumb is with regard to halyard tension. Also, do the class rules permit adjusting the tension during a race? Are blocks added to the bottom of the mast making it easier to adjust/tighten? I sail mainly on San Francisco Bay where the winds a generally pretty strong.

I know, too many questions. Trust me, there will be more!

-- Have You Seen This? --
Re: H16 Jib halyard tension [Re: Curt] #10120
09/05/02 04:50 PM
09/05/02 04:50 PM

A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A

I am new to the H16 as well but have learned this leason already. A hobie book I borrowed from a friend say there should be 4-6 inches of play in the forstay when you tighten the jib halyard. There should already be a block on the port side of your mast as well as a pulley on the uphall if you take a bite of line under the pulley, then put it under the block on the mast base you gain a lot of pull plus the block has four rivets (unlike the cleat which has only two) so it is a lot stronger. My sailing friend (who I borrowed the book from) was not aware of this. After our first day of sailing together My boat was much faster then his. The reason was mostly the jib tension!!! I have looked at all hobie photos I see and have seen up to a foot of slack in the forestay. But you still need to be concerned about MAST RAKE, there is a whole thread on it here. Have fun

Billy

Last edited by utahbilly; 09/05/02 05:07 PM.
Re: H16 Jib halyard tension [Re: Curt] #10121
09/06/02 07:35 AM
09/06/02 07:35 AM
Virginia USA
CMerrell Offline
enthusiast
CMerrell  Offline
enthusiast

Virginia USA