Long Beach, IN, USA
S
Soup7373 Offline OP
stranger
Soup7373  Offline OP
stranger
S

Long Beach, IN, USA
Fellow catsailors: I recently bought an H14 Turbo and I'm fairly new to sailing cats. I'm attempting to sail on Lake MI in the Mich City area. I had 2 q's in regard to beach wheels transport and coming about.

With regard to beach wheels, I do not have cradles, and have scoured the internet for instructions or tips on easy transport. I am having a hell of a time moving the h14 from beach > water with 2 people. What is the secret, and is it feasible to transport it just on my own? I am moving it roughly 50 feet.

Also, in regard to coming about, as the sail catches the wind from the other direction, what is the secret to NOT getting the tiller extension in the way of the main sheet sliding along the traveler track? What am I doing wrong here?

I've found this forum useful and have been lurking for a while, but any help for this newbie would really be appreciated as I learn to sail by trial & error! Thanks!

Newbie Cat Sailor - H14 Turbo, Lake MI waters
-- Have You Seen This? --
Re: Newbie Q's: Beach transport & turning [Re: Soup7373] #112397
07/23/07 05:03 PM
07/23/07 05:03 PM
North Carolina
hrtsailor Offline
enthusiast
hrtsailor  Offline
enthusiast

North Carolina
When I come about in my H-16 I am pointing up as high as I can and have the traveler car centered. I allow just enough slack in the main sheet so the mast will rotate. There shouldn't be much movement in the main sheet or traveler car to interfere with the tiller extension. You have to flip it around the back as you move to the other side.

Howard

Re: Newbie Q's: Beach transport & turning [Re: hrtsailor] #112398
07/24/07 10:56 AM
07/24/07 10:56 AM
Coopersburg, PA
V
Vinny_M Offline
Vinny_M  Offline
V

Coopersburg, PA
First of all, welcome to cat sailing Soup7373, I hope you will enjoy your H14 very much.