09/01/07 10:09 PM
09/01/07 10:09 PM
B
buyer Offline OP
stranger
buyer  Offline OP
stranger
B

ok I am a newbie and plan on getting my H16 out on the water for the first time. The local marine forecast is calling for wind speeds between 5-9 knots. I'm want a nice easy sail for the first outing and knot flying hull (that will come later), but is 5-9 knots enough wind to sail a H16 or will I just be wasting my time? Should I wait for stonger winds on another day?

Thanks for the advice!

-- Have You Seen This? --
Re: Wind Speed [Re: buyer] #116064
09/01/07 10:18 PM
09/01/07 10:18 PM
Norman,OK
gree2056 Offline
old hand
gree2056  Offline
old hand

Norman,OK
5-9knots.... that could be a wild ride if you are solo. You will definently not be wasting you time.

I don't want to scare you but the boat should be popping a hull up readily in 9 knots. But there are alot of ways to make it a little less crazy, travel out, crank on the downhaul.

Once you go cat you never go back! Nacra 5.2 (Elsies)#1499, running an inter17 spin!
Re: Wind Speed [Re: gree2056] #116065
09/02/07 09:55 AM
09/02/07 09:55 AM
North Carolina
hrtsailor Offline
enthusiast
hrtsailor  Offline
enthusiast

North Carolina
I sail solo most of the time and 5 to 9 knots (6 to 10 mph) is adequate. I usually don't plan to sail when the forecast is 5 to 10 mph, always waiting for the 10 to 20 forecast. You shouldn't have any trouble depending where you sail. If it is a lake and there are a few boaters around, you should be fine. If you are going off the beach into the ocean, it would be better to have a crew though it might be difficult to get out with a light breeze. Actually it would be better in either case not to go out solo the first time.

If you are going out for the first time, you might want to practice righting the boat in a controlled situation. Make sure you have all the required safety gear and wear a PFD.

Howard

Re: Wind Speed [Re: hrtsailor] #116066
09/02/07 03:19 PM
09/02/07 03:19 PM

A
Anonymous