Hop To
Spreader rake and effect on prebend #120485
10/19/07 12:35 PM
10/19/07 12:35 PM
Chattanooga, TN
jody Offline OP
jody  Offline OP

Chattanooga, TN
Ok so we have been noticing that when pulling on the downhaul, and sheeting rather tight up wind the mast gets some weird bends in it above the hounds. Almost looks s like in shape. Nigel had sailed olies boat 2 weeks ago and thought maybe the dimonad wire tension was off, or the spreaders not set right since the mast should bend more back not side to side (i believe that is what he was getting at since this is 2nd hand info). So now we are moving blade 1s spreader rake back and lengthing the spreader more. We are keeping mine the same and gonna try some comparasion next race. The question is will moving the spreaders like this change the prebend any, and will is cause the mast to bend more in the long axis then in the short axis. I am not an engineer so it confuses me. Thanks for the help

Jody Blade F16 724 Plays with Sharp Objects
--Advertisement--
Re: Spreader rake and effect on prebend [Re: jody] #120486
10/19/07 12:59 PM
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
bobcat Offline
addict
bobcat  Offline
addict

Not qualified to speak as an engineer but will take a stab at it.
Imagine a mast with straight spreaders and no diamond wire tension. It is straight.
Start tightening the diamonds. Which way does it bend? Probably pretty random depending on which side is tighter and/or slight bends in the 'straight' spreaders.
So now sweep the spreaders back. The tension from the diamond wires are now definitely pulling the mast in a particular direction. So now when you tighten the downhaul (shortening the distance between the foot and head of the sail) the leverage you are applying is already oriented in this particular direction.