Gulf Coast
tami Offline OP
addict
tami  Offline OP
addict

Gulf Coast
Quote from SA 'gasoline':

"Hello, this is my first post here.
I wanted to sign up here to post this a while back, but I just got my validation e-mail, so I posted it elsewhere. I will modify and re-post it below.
I am new to sailing and have only been out three times, and have no skills to speak of. I am will be taking sailing lessons in a few months' time; and I hope one day soon to be able to cross the Atlantic.
Here is my view on the topic of getting new people sailing, from someone in that position:

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

1. I have noticed in my years of lurking that a lot of the chatter here at Sailing Anarchy (SA) goes on at length (rather unconsciously I think) about "my yacht club...".

I wonder if people don't realize how "normal" (so to speak) people view these sorts of statements?
While it may be the norm for many of the people on the website, it sounds incredibly inaccessible to most other people. It is almost directly akin to "my country club...".

"Clubs" of any sort like this immediately imply exclusivity. A majority of people do not belong to any sort of exclusive organization whatsoever (for which one has to be nominated), neither do they concern themselves with matters of social climbing.
Joining a yacht club simply has no appeal to them, because they feel (maybe rightly) that that is something with which only people of substantial means and the accompanying social standing concern themselves. After all don't you have to dress up in order to enter such clubhouses? Aren't these clubs merely toned-down versions of the gentleman's clubs of the turn of the century?

This is the image I think such terms convey to the majority of people who are not sailors.