01/22/03 05:25 PM
01/22/03 05:25 PM
North Carolina, USA
iso427 Offline OP
stranger
iso427  Offline OP
stranger

North Carolina, USA
This is my first post and I wanted to say hello and get a few opinions on sails.
I am fairly new to sailing. I am going to purchase new sails and I would like some opinions on which type of sails I should buy: Dacron or Mylar.
My boat is used mainly for lake sailing/racing.
Thanks in advance for your input.
iso

Walter (Who is still "Learning The Ropes")
-- Have You Seen This? --
Re: Hello and Opinions Needed [Re: iso427] #15649
01/22/03 06:13 PM
01/22/03 06:13 PM
Key Largo, FL
MaryAWells Offline
enthusiast
MaryAWells  Offline
enthusiast

Key Largo, FL
What kind of boat? Isotope? (Just assuming because of your user name.) If so, have you asked the manufacturer, or other isotope owners, what they recommend?

Mary A. Wells
Re: Hello and Opinions Needed [Re: MaryAWells] #15650
01/22/03 07:33 PM
01/22/03 07:33 PM
North Carolina, USA
iso427 Offline OP
stranger
iso427  Offline OP
stranger

North Carolina, USA
Hi Mary,
Yes I do own an Isotope and I have asked the manufacturer as well as other Isotope owners and was told that it was whatever my preference is but I dont have a preference at this time as I am new to sailing.
I currently have dacron sails and would like to know what advantages-if any mylar would offer me.
Walter

Re: Hello and Opinions Needed [Re: iso427] #15651
01/23/03 02:49 AM
01/23/03 02:49 AM
australia
taipan029 Offline
journeyman
taipan029  Offline
journeyman

australia
walter
some advantages of mylar does not strech (well not as bad as dacron)mylar sail have a better shape and holds it for there whole life, stornger, they are very easy to repare looks beter
cheers..kurt

Re: Hello and Opinions Needed [Re: iso427] #15652
01/23/03 06:30 AM
01/23/03 06:30 AM
Key Largo, FL
MaryAWells Offline
enthusiast
MaryAWells  Offline
enthusiast

Key Largo, FL