Announcements
New Discussions
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
rules again #192644
10/05/09 12:12 PM
10/05/09 12:12 PM
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 5,525
pgp Offline OP
Carpal Tunnel
pgp  Offline OP
Carpal Tunnel

Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 5,525
I'm sorry folks but I gotta get my sailing fix for the day. This question came up recently, names are witheld to protect the innocent.

Two boats on starboard tack. A F16 is finishing downwind (under spinnaker). Can he legally head up, preventing an A cat (or any other type) from finishing. By heading up he will sail faster and improve his portsmouth score, so he is not sailing above proper course.

I say this is one of those execptions. He must allow the other boat to finish.


Pete Pollard
Blade 702

'When you have a lot of things to do, it's best to get your nap out of the way first.

-- Have You Seen This? --
Re: rules again [Re: pgp] #192647
10/05/09 12:18 PM
10/05/09 12:18 PM
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 548
MERRITTISLAND, FL
Matt M Offline
addict
Matt M  Offline
addict

Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 548
MERRITTISLAND, FL
Originally Posted by pgp
I'm sorry folks but I gotta get my sailing fix for the day. This question came up recently, names are witheld to protect the innocent.

Two boats on starboard tack. A F16 is finishing downwind (under spinnaker). Can he legally head up, preventing an A cat (or any other type) from finishing. By heading up he will sail faster and improve his portsmouth score, so he is not sailing above proper course.

I say this is one of those execptions. He must allow the other boat to finish.


The finish is a mark of the course. If he has overlap you have to provide him room to round it.

In the case where the line is closed and in the middle of the course, it is an obstruction and you have to provide room for the other boat to avoid it.

Re: rules again [Re: Matt M] #192653
10/05/09 01:50 PM
10/05/09 01:50 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,718
St Petersburg FL
Robi Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Robi  Offline
Carpal Tunnel

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,718
St Petersburg FL
Matt, there is navigable water around the line and between the two marks that make up the imaginary start/finish line.

I was in this situation where we were both on starboard, heading to the weather mark. Leeward boat was maybe half a boat length in front. He came up and pinch me against a dingy tethered to an anchored yacht. I had no where to go and eased off my sails to fall off and prevent hitting any vessels.

I was told there was navigable waters around the yacht and dinghy so I had no rights for room.

I think this situation is similar...

Re: rules again [Re: Robi] #192655
10/05/09 02:02 PM
10/05/09 02:02 PM
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,152
tampa, fl
K
ksurfer2 Offline
old hand
ksurfer2  Offline
old hand
K

Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,152
tampa, fl
Robi - For a long time I was of a similar opinion to you that a closed start finish line should not be viewed as an obstruction. I have had a discussion regarding that situation with several different judges and the concensus that I got was that it is an obstruction, and must be treated as such, if it is deemed to be closed by the SI's.


If your havin girl problems i feel bad for you son
I got 99 problems but my beautiful wife ain't one
Re: rules again [Re: pgp] #192656
10/05/09 02:05 PM
10/05/09 02:05 PM
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 976
France
pepin Offline
old hand
pepin  Offline
old hand

Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 976
France
Originally Posted by pgp
I say this is one of those execptions. He must allow the other boat to finish.
Well, there is no reason he should. It's perfectly legal to pinch a boat away from the finish line.

Re: rules again [Re: pepin] #192658
10/05/09 02:07 PM
10/05/09 02:07 PM
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 5,590
Naples, FL
waterbug_wpb Offline
Carpal Tunnel
waterbug_wpb  Offline
Carpal Tunnel

Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 5,590
Naples, FL
Is there any rule requiring you cross the finish line from a certain direction?

If you were pinched out of the finish line downwind, is there any reason you couldn't douse the spin, round up and cross the finish line close-hauled?


Jay

Re: rules again [Re: Robi] #192659
10/05/09 02:12 PM
10/05/09 02:12 PM
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 548
MERRITTISLAND, FL
Matt M Offline
addict
Matt M  Offline
addict

Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 548
MERRITTISLAND, FL
Originally Posted by Robi
Matt, there is navigable water around the line and between the two marks that make up the imaginary start/finish line.

I was in this situation where we were both on starboard, heading to the weather mark. Leeward boat was maybe half a boat length in front. He came up and pinch me against a dingy tethered to an anchored yacht. I had no where to go and eased off my sails to fall off and prevent hitting any vessels.

I was told there was navigable waters around the yacht and dinghy so I had no rights for room.

I think this situation is similar...


This falls under the room and oportunity. On approaching an obsticle that is long like an island or even a s/f line and they have to come up in time that you can tack away to take the water on the other side, it is still a normal course and no foul. If it is something short like a moored boat legaly they can wait much longer before heading you up because there is room. If they wait until the last minute and round you up so that you have sail away from your "normal" course then you have grounds to argue. If for no other reason than who ever did that is being an butt.

Re: rules again [Re: pepin] #192660
10/05/09 02:15 PM
10/05/09 02:15 PM
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 5,525
pgp Offline OP
Carpal Tunnel
pgp  Offline OP
Carpal Tunnel

Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 5,525
Originally Posted by pepin
Originally Posted by pgp
I say this is one of those execptions. He must allow the other boat to finish.
Well, there is no reason he should. It's perfectly legal to pinch a boat away from the finish line.


But my understanding is that (if I'm doing the pinching)I may not finish. If you cross the line, you must give the other boat room at the mark. If you carry him above the mark, you must go above the mark yourself.


Pete Pollard
Blade 702

'When you have a lot of things to do, it's best to get your nap out of the way first.

Re: rules again [Re: waterbug_wpb] #192663
10/05/09 02:33 PM
10/05/09 02:33 PM
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 443
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
bobcat Offline
addict
bobcat  Offline
addict

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 443
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
In the definition of finish, it includes a bit about "in the direction from the last mark." So I would perceive that you couldn't hook finish.

Some of Pgp'S Question probably needs to define how the overlap developed. As has been discussed before, if you want to use the rules as tactics against someone do it early. If you want to luff the A away from the pin then make sure it is done well outside the "ZONE". Stay outside the zone until you can either drive deep or jibe to finish.
If you opt to drive deep you have to ensure that you can break the overlap such that when you enter the "zone" there is no overlap, ergo no right to room.

Re: rules again [Re: bobcat] #192665
10/05/09 02:39 PM
10/05/09 02:39 PM
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 5,525
pgp Offline OP
Carpal Tunnel
pgp  Offline OP
Carpal Tunnel

Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 5,525
I'm not certain, but this is how I think the situation developed. The open spin class and A class were started together but scored separately. The F16 was trying to finish as quickly as possible to obtain the best score in that class. The A cat, in this case was more like a moving obstacle rather than a competitor.


Pete Pollard
Blade 702

'When you have a lot of things to do, it's best to get your nap out of the way first.

Re: rules again [Re: pgp] #192667
10/05/09 03:14 PM
10/05/09 03:14 PM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 3,528
Looking for a Job, I got credi...
scooby_simon Offline
Hull Flying, Snow Sliding....
scooby_simon  Offline
Hull Flying, Snow Sliding....
Carpal Tunnel

Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 3,528
Looking for a Job, I got credi...
How was the overlap gained, was the "proper" course for the F16 to sail higher angles as they would ger better VMG than the A; if there is an overlap at the zone, the leeward boat must give room to round the mark (or in this cae cross the line).


F16 - GBR 553 - SOLD

I also talk sport here
Re: rules again [Re: scooby_simon] #192668
10/05/09 03:23 PM
10/05/09 03:23 PM
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 5,525
pgp Offline OP
Carpal Tunnel
pgp  Offline OP
Carpal Tunnel

Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 5,525
Yes. This was a case where the wind was highly variable in both direction and speed. Proper course could have been anything!


Pete Pollard
Blade 702

'When you have a lot of things to do, it's best to get your nap out of the way first.

Re: rules again [Re: pgp] #192669
10/05/09 03:30 PM
10/05/09 03:30 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,718
St Petersburg FL
Robi Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Robi  Offline
Carpal Tunnel

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,718
St Petersburg FL
Simon, but seing how the F16 is using a spin to sail downwind and the A is a uni rig, I would assume the F16 must sail a deeper course, if he or she is sailing higher than an A downwind then the F16 would be pinching. NO?

Re: rules again [Re: Matt M] #192671
10/05/09 03:32 PM
10/05/09 03:32 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,718
St Petersburg FL
Robi Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Robi  Offline
Carpal Tunnel

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,718
St Petersburg FL
Originally Posted by Matt M
If for no other reason than who ever did that is being an butt.
This is where good sportsmanship comes into play.

Sometimes playing by the rules is OK, but pushing the rules can be dangerous as well. We were booking good speed I want to say 10+ kts upwind.

Re: rules again [Re: pgp] #192672
10/05/09 03:39 PM
10/05/09 03:39 PM
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 975
South Louisiana, USA
Clayton Offline
old hand
Clayton  Offline
old hand

Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 975
South Louisiana, USA
Ok, from a tactical stand point, why would one do that to a boat that is not in their class? If that would not affect their standing in their own class but possibly the other boats standing (if it caused them to lose a place) in its own class, what would be the point? If you are in a O.D. class is the elapsed time a factor? Or just first to finish? If it is time then why wait for the other boat to get close then head up? Why not just shoot for the finish as fast as possible?

Regardless of the rules, it just seems someone is just trying to P.O. someone else.

Inquiring minds,

Clayton

Re: rules again [Re: Robi] #192674
10/05/09 03:47 PM
10/05/09 03:47 PM
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 548
MERRITTISLAND, FL
Matt M Offline
addict
Matt M  Offline
addict

Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 548
MERRITTISLAND, FL
Originally Posted by Robi
Originally Posted by Matt M
If for no other reason than who ever did that is being an butt.
This is where good sportsmanship comes into play.

Sometimes playing by the rules is OK, but pushing the rules can be dangerous as well. We were booking good speed I want to say 10+ kts upwind.


These things go both ways as to who to blame.

If you were getting lee bowed and especially if a moored boat was comming up, tactically the best bet would have been to tack off. If you are on the lay line for the mark in all likelyhood you would have been sucked down and back behind the other boat anyway, so by ducking you ended up in the same position.

Re: rules again [Re: Matt M] #192680
10/05/09 04:07 PM
10/05/09 04:07 PM
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,152
tampa, fl
K
ksurfer2 Offline
old hand
ksurfer2  Offline
old hand
K

Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,152
tampa, fl
I was the other boat in this situation. We were not on the layline and the moored boat was in a position where we had to foot slightly to get under it. There was discussion on our boat as to whether to duck the boat or try to tack, but we could not tack with Robi on our hip. We did not take Robi up into the boat, and there was plenty of time for him to decide to tack away. Sportsmanship should not be questioned here.


If your havin girl problems i feel bad for you son
I got 99 problems but my beautiful wife ain't one
Re: rules again [Re: ksurfer2] #192686
10/05/09 04:35 PM
10/05/09 04:35 PM
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,906
Clermont, FL, USA
David Ingram Offline
Carpal Tunnel
David Ingram  Offline
Carpal Tunnel

Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,906
Clermont, FL, USA
Originally Posted by ksurfer2
I was the other boat in this situation. We were not on the layline and the moored boat was in a position where we had to foot slightly to get under it. There was discussion on our boat as to whether to duck the boat or try to tack, but we could not tack with Robi on our hip. We did not take Robi up into the boat, and there was plenty of time for him to decide to tack away. Sportsmanship should not be questioned here.


Dude, I thought I was the "butt" in question here, in fact I still think I am. Between rule 19.2.b and the definition of an obstruction you have me dead to rights. My bad buddy wasn't really trying to be an 'butt', at the time I had a different understanding of the rule.

As for the danger bit... it was a moored boat surrounded by navigable water, 10kts is not light speed.

Now, the question is... Could I have called for room to tack? assuming the course change I had to make was "substantial" enough to pass below the anchored boat.


David Ingram
F18 USA 242
http://www.solarwind.solar

"Do or do not. There is no try." - Yoda
"Excuses are the tools of the weak and incompetent" - Two sista's I overheard in the hall
"You don't have to be a brain surgeon to be a complete idiot, but it helps"
Re: rules again [Re: David Ingram] #192687
10/05/09 04:45 PM
10/05/09 04:45 PM
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 5,525
pgp Offline OP
Carpal Tunnel
pgp  Offline OP
Carpal Tunnel

Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 5,525
smile I love rules questions.


Pete Pollard
Blade 702

'When you have a lot of things to do, it's best to get your nap out of the way first.

Re: rules again [Re: David Ingram] #192688
10/05/09 05:02 PM
10/05/09 05:02 PM
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,152
tampa, fl
K
ksurfer2 Offline
old hand
ksurfer2  Offline
old hand
K

Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,152
tampa, fl
Dave, you're off the hook on this one. The incident in question took place at GYC a month or so ago between Robi and I.


If your havin girl problems i feel bad for you son
I got 99 problems but my beautiful wife ain't one
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4

Moderated by  Damon Linkous 

Search

Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 196 guests, and 51 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newest Members
Darryl, zorro, CraigJ, PaulEddo2, AUS180
8150 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Forum Statistics
Forums26
Topics22,406
Posts267,062
Members8,150
Most Online4,027
Jul 30th, 2025
--Advertisement--
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.1