03/24/10 02:24 AM
Palm Beach County
TheManShed Offline OP
addict
TheManShed  Offline OP
addict

Palm Beach County
Poor Man’s Alternative to Vacuum Bagging

I’d like to share a trick I’ve been using. A person would have a hard time to tell the difference in a piece made from this method placed next to a vacuum bagged piece. I’ve been using this method for over 16 months and it works really well. All you need is a roll of 3M masking film, a flexible plastic body putty spreader, and some tape. All of these items can be purchased at any building supply store like Home Depot in the paint department and fairly cheap. A roll of the 3M film will last forever.

Vacuum bagging is great but it takes time to set-up and is costly. First there is the investment in the pump and hardware. Then the process it’s self is costly when you add up the cost of peel ply, bleeder cloth, perf cloth, dumb-dumb or liquid nails, bagging film, and what ever else you may need to make or buy for the job. Not to mention that you usually need about 6 hands. Any one thing that goes wrong and you have a large investment that went to hell in a hand basket.

I had near miss on the last lay-up of a hull half but pulled it out of the fire when I was shorted 5 feet of peel ply from my supplier. I was combining two steps into one and it was important to pull the extra resin and bog out of a wet lay-up. (I had my roll of 3M film it saved the over all lay-up but did not allow me pull out the extra resin.) Every time I look at the result I still get pissed but that is part of the game. I could have lost thousands of dollars and about 6 weeks of work from a simple mistake of a store clerk and I never double-checked before the lay-up so I can only blame myself for trusting that somebody else did their job correctly.