07/20/03 07:01 AM
07/20/03 07:01 AM
Md
mikesipes Offline OP
stranger
mikesipes  Offline OP
stranger

Md
This is my first time replacing and packing bearing.

I bought LongRun Bearing Kits containing 2 cones, 2 cups, Seals & Cotters Pin.
(Also I bought a Fulton Bearing Life protector set with a grease gun fitting to replace the old cover and to ease the greasing of the wheels in the future. )

Now I am in the process of replacing the bearing on my trailer and I would like to know how one goes about removing and re-inserting the bearing caps. First off I assume the cap to be the chrome cone that the bearing rolls in. I think the kit instruction list this item as a cone, but call it a cap in the instruction procedure.

For the first wheel I didnt realize the caps were to be replaced and I simply removed the inner and out bearings, cleaned out the old grease, tapped in the inner seal and replaced the new grease packed bearings.

However at that point I realized I still had two leftover caps. So I started on the other wheel and did the same procedure except I tapped the outer cap out of the hub, hitting it side to side with a screwdriver and hammer. This was a slow a difficult procedure. I stopped at that point before I removed the outer cap because I was unsure of me method.
Reinstalling the cap is now the problem. I dont have any thing the same diameter the hit the cap solidly. What do people do to tap the cap into place? Also how far do the caps get tapped in? The out ones were close to the farthest point but not all the way in.
At this point I am thinking to take the hubs to a local shop and have the caps pressed in.

The last question is about the wheel I already finished. Should I go back and remove the old caps in that wheel too.
By the way, the old bearings seems good to me in terms of smooth turning and dirt free.
Thanks,
Mike

Last edited by mikesipes; 07/20/03 07:03 AM.
-- Have You Seen This? --
Re: Trailer Bearing Replacement Question [Re: mikesipes] #22280