07/06/11 02:23 PM
07/06/11 02:23 PM
S
Stephen Offline OP
journeyman
Stephen  Offline OP
journeyman
S

I have been sailing for about 24 years, Prindle 16, Prindle 19, Hobie 20, Formula 16 in that order. I don't go day sailing anymore because of the time to rig and derig. I only go for several days at a time and only to the ocean where the shore is not going to destroy my boat. The local fleet use to be very active years ago and we raced a lot, those days are gone now. I have a nearby lake but it is very rocky and to dangerous for my Formula 16 anyway.

I would like to sail more often and have been considering the Wave so that I can go to the lake for a day trip. I know I will be giving up performance sailing but I think I would rather get to sail more often than once or twice a year.

I would love to start racing again with the local Portsmouth fleet at the lake but they are all mono's like lasers.

Will I be sorry if I give up my go fast boat and get a Wave?

I am also getting a little older and less interested in all the work for the amount of excitement I get in return.

Any thoughts from others that have been in my shoes.

Best regards,

Stephen
Phoenix Az
--Advertisement--
Re: Is a Wave in my future? [Re: Stephen] #234476
07/06/11 04:03 PM
07/06/11 04:03 PM
Indianapolis, IN - Midwest USA...
IndyWave Offline
enthusiast
IndyWave  Offline
enthusiast

Indianapolis, IN - Midwest USA...
I guarantee you'll go faster on a Wave than you will standing on the shore looking out at the water!

Keep the F16 for the special trips, but sail the Wave daily, and you'll have the best of both worlds.

Sailing against Lasers, you'll be pretty well matched, depending on the wind. Generally, they'll point higher, but you'll have the speed advantage (as long as there's decent wind).

What - Me Worry?

2006 Hobie Wave 7358
"Ish Kabibble"
Re: Is a Wave in my future? [Re: IndyWave] #234492
07/06/11 11:56 PM
07/06/11 11:56 PM
Toledo, Ohio (western end of ...
Mike Fahle Offline
addict