09/27/06 07:28 AM
09/27/06 07:28 AM
D
djm Offline OP
stranger
djm  Offline OP
stranger
D

I'm fairly new to my older Hobie 18 and am having 2 problems. Hoping to get some advice before I go out and just start replacing things:

1) forestay swivel sticking - once the rig is tensioned, the upper forestay on the swivel has trouble turning. So when the sail is unfurled, the stay is twisting, causing the sail to want to furl back up like it is spring loaded.

Do I need to replace the swivel or should some lube do the trick? (and if lube, what kind is best?)

2) Jib halyard jumping the block - a couple times my jib halyard wire has decided to jump out of the block, and get jammed in between the sheave and the wheel of the block. Do I just need a new block or can this be somehow tensioned?

I'm sure I could just replace all of these parts but I would like to save the $ if possible.

Thanks - djm

-- Have You Seen This? --
Re: hobie 18 forestay problems [Re: djm] #85630
09/27/06 07:34 AM
09/27/06 07:34 AM
South Carolina
Jake Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Jake  Offline
Carpal Tunnel

South Carolina
Some dry lube and a thurough cleaning of the swivel might help things - you should use McLube Sailkote or a dry silicone lubricant. Be careful with some of the dry silicone lubricants because the can still remain a little tacky - and that's bad because it will collect sand and dust. If that doesn't work, you probably need to rebuild the swivel by replacing the bearings or simply replace it.

I don't recall what the jib halyard block looks like but it sounds like something may be bent allowing too much room beside the sheave. I seem to recall that that Hobie 18 wire block has a pin and ring that hold the assembly together. It's possible that the pin is too long leaving the assembly sloppy.

Jake Kohl
Re: hobie 18 forestay problems [Re: djm] #85631
09/27/06 08:17 AM
09/27/06 08:17 AM
Houston
carlbohannon Offline
old hand
carlbohannon  Offline
old hand

Houston