Hop To
starting to sail... #259718
05/19/13 02:47 PM
05/19/13 02:47 PM
Rotorhead-58 Offline OP
stranger
Rotorhead-58  Offline OP
stranger

Hey All, I am new to both this forum and the sport of sailing. After getting a quick tutorial and basic understanding of the principles of sailing during my honeymoon, I sailed my first Hobie called the "Wave." Very user friendly and picked the basics up very easily, 15 min. or so. Anywho, I am now moving to Hawaii as I have come on orders (ARMY) and am looking to take up sailing again.
As stated above, I am inexperienced but am a quick learner. As a beginner, and in HI, what 'cat would everyone recommend? I am looking for something I can grow into and once I feel comfortable can add components to make it fast and more agile. My budget is roughly 5K and i am 6'2, 210lbs. I am also hoping I can get my experience up by sailing with a club and just a group of people who enjoy the sport as well and would be willing to take someone under their wing for a bit. Any and all advice would be greatly appreciated.

-- Have You Seen This? --
Re: starting to sail... [Re: Rotorhead-58] #259719
05/19/13 07:12 PM
05/19/13 07:12 PM
South Carolina
Jake Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Jake  Offline
Carpal Tunnel

South Carolina
Originally Posted by Rotorhead-58
Hey All, I am new to both this forum and the sport of sailing. After getting a quick tutorial and basic understanding of the principles of sailing during my honeymoon, I sailed my first Hobie called the "Wave." Very user friendly and picked the basics up very easily, 15 min. or so. Anywho, I am now moving to Hawaii as I have come on orders (ARMY) and am looking to take up sailing again.