Announcements
New Discussions
Downhaul under spinnaker
by CapriSun. 11/12/20 09:41 AM
Tornado
by Team_Cat_Fever. 11/02/20 09:45 PM
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Hop To
Loose beam bolt #269068
02/04/14 02:15 AM
02/04/14 02:15 AM
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 182
Grafton, NSW
Greg/Debra Offline OP
member
Greg/Debra  Offline OP
member

Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 182
Grafton, NSW
I just tried to tighten my beam bolts and found that one of the rear beam bolts is loose, and can't be tightened - it just turns.

So how do I deal with this?

Thanks,
Greg.


1140 Gadfly
1434 J.I.B.E.
1727 Atreus
-- Have You Seen This? --
Re: Loose beam bolt [Re: Greg/Debra] #269070
02/04/14 03:49 AM
02/04/14 03:49 AM

T
thricebitten
Unregistered
thricebitten
Unregistered
T



Hi Greg,

so is this on a timber boat?

Most timber boats have bolts with nuts under the beam pads. Usualy need a spanner to hold the nut underneath while you turn bolt above. But I guess its possible that they have threaded plates in place like glass boats, in which case you can buy next size bigger in diametre of bolt and tap out the plate to same size, or put a nut on the end of existing bolt if it's long enough (or buy a longer one).

Re: Loose beam bolt [Re: Greg/Debra] #269072
02/04/14 03:57 AM
02/04/14 03:57 AM
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 182
Grafton, NSW
Greg/Debra Offline OP
member
Greg/Debra  Offline OP
member

Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 182
Grafton, NSW
Hi Gary,

The bolt in question is an inner one (plywood boat, 1434) so how on earth do you get a spanner inside the beam to get at the bolt (or nut)?

Thanks,
Greg.


1140 Gadfly
1434 J.I.B.E.
1727 Atreus
Re: Loose beam bolt [Re: Greg/Debra] #269087
02/04/14 02:30 PM
02/04/14 02:30 PM
Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 858
Victoria Australia
Pirate Offline
old hand
Pirate  Offline
old hand

Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 858
Victoria Australia
I had the same probs on Jurassic Karp when I stripped it down.

I chopped up an old 13mm ring/open ended spanner and welded in a nice bit of 3mm stainless flat to extend the daylights out of that spanner....
or you could make one from any bit of flat bar that will fit into the beam and by simply cutting a 'slot' in the bar that will fit the nut and your away.....


Remember you'll have the re-install to do or future re-tightens to do so its worth making a half decent unit.


wink


Yar, & this ere post be done without a sin'le drop o' rum passin' me lips

Kingy
started with Impara Cadet #3 / Mosquito #245
& now Mosquitos #1182 & #1740

Re: Loose beam bolt [Re: Pirate] #269096
02/05/14 05:19 AM
02/05/14 05:19 AM
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 73
McLaren Vale, SA
Rebel without a Clew Offline
journeyman
Rebel without a Clew  Offline
journeyman

Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 73
McLaren Vale, SA
Like this...swearing helps, so does removing the hatch cover surround as every millimetre helps. Re beaming 1763 after re decking this winter we were able to get a long ring spanner on to the nut,wrapping the underside with electrical tape holds the nut captive.
Having Popeye like forearms is no help at all...so if you know someone with skinny arms/good hand strength

Attached Files
P1011059.jpg (144 downloads)
Re: Loose beam bolt [Re: Pirate] #269107
02/05/14 10:25 PM
02/05/14 10:25 PM
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 182
Grafton, NSW
Greg/Debra Offline OP
member
Greg/Debra  Offline OP
member

Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 182
Grafton, NSW
Originally Posted by PIRATE

I chopped up an old 13mm ring/open ended spanner and welded in a nice bit of 3mm stainless flat to extend the daylights out of that spanner....

wink


Hmm... 13mm spanner on a 12.7mm nut, goes on easier in a confined space. Good thinking Kingy!

I made the tool as per instructions, except didn't have any stainless flat for the handle, so used tube instead. I will try it out on 1434 on Saturday. I just went to try it out on 1140, but it has the rear beam nuts welded to rectangular washers, so no spanner needed.

Checked the main beam bolts on 1140; nuts were done up tight but bolts were loose as in the holes, as nuts had run out of thread. Will now cut a bit more thread on the bolts.

Fortunately I don't have Popeye forearms, so didn't get stuck in the holes, but a bit of swearing nevertheless.


1140 Gadfly
1434 J.I.B.E.
1727 Atreus
Re: Loose beam bolt [Re: Greg/Debra] #269120
02/06/14 01:59 PM
02/06/14 01:59 PM
Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 858
Victoria Australia
Pirate Offline
old hand
Pirate  Offline
old hand

Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 858
Victoria Australia
Here's one I prepared earlier .....


as you can see it reaches easily smile

[Linked Image]


the head of the spanner was just butt-welded directly onto the stainless scrap I had layin around....

[Linked Image]

the ring part was totally useless so it fell onto the grinder.


Alternatively,

you could always just cut a 13mm wide slot into a bit of high-tensile steel strap with a small grinder.....

wink


Yar, & this ere post be done without a sin'le drop o' rum passin' me lips

Kingy
started with Impara Cadet #3 / Mosquito #245
& now Mosquitos #1182 & #1740

Re: Loose beam bolt [Re: Pirate] #269298
02/13/14 12:33 AM
02/13/14 12:33 AM
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 182
Grafton, NSW
Greg/Debra Offline OP
member
Greg/Debra  Offline OP
member

Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 182
Grafton, NSW
The spanner I made worked a treat for holding the nut and getting the old bolt undone. However I could not for the life of me get the nut started on the new bolt, so was after much frustration and swearing ended up giving up and sailing one bolt shy. Grrr mad

I am going to weld the nut onto a rectangular washer and grind a point on the new bolt to make it easier to locate the hole in the nut.


1140 Gadfly
1434 J.I.B.E.
1727 Atreus
Re: Loose beam bolt [Re: Greg/Debra] #269300
02/13/14 04:16 AM
02/13/14 04:16 AM
Joined: Oct 2010
Posts: 92
South Oz
Phillip Offline
journeyman
Phillip  Offline
journeyman

Joined: Oct 2010
Posts: 92
South Oz
Not teaching to suck eggs or questioning your engineering intelligence but, I am assuming it is the same thread type and size, Whitworth, metric, BSF, ?American and any other possibility. Can you remove the bolt and test fit the nut, especially when you intend to grind a taper for a bit of a lead on, making sure the start of the thread is clean and no burs left by the grinding. smile


Tortured ply is clearly beautiful.
Mozzie Aldebaran VI
1827
Re: Loose beam bolt [Re: Greg/Debra] #269350
02/13/14 09:20 PM
02/13/14 09:20 PM
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 182
Grafton, NSW
Greg/Debra Offline OP
member
Greg/Debra  Offline OP
member

Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 182
Grafton, NSW
Hi Phillip,

The bolts are 5/16" UNC, with 1/2"AF heads and nuts. And yes I will clean up the threads after grinding.


1140 Gadfly
1434 J.I.B.E.
1727 Atreus

Moderated by  Damon Linkous 

Search

Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 26 guests, and 240 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newest Members
jamieoklahoma, CameronB, stampdk, lwalling, PavelRu
8076 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Timbo 1
Forum Statistics
Forums26
Topics22,383
Posts267,009
Members8,076
Most Online1,650
Sep 10th, 2019
--Advertisement--
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.1