Announcements
New Discussions
NACRA 500 Spi Halyard Fouls on Jib Furler
by '81 Hobie 16 Lac Leman. 11/11/22 12:11 PM
Spinnaker on Nacra 5.2; halyard fouls when (un)furling jib
by '81 Hobie 16 Lac Leman. 11/11/22 11:50 AM
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
blocks for h14 #36254
07/31/04 11:17 PM
07/31/04 11:17 PM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 56
yankyfan2000 Offline OP
journeyman
yankyfan2000  Offline OP
journeyman

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 56
I have harken blocks set up on my h14 now but the bottom block does not grip the rope so im killing myself everytime i sail holding the line. Can i just buy a new bottom block that "grips" the line or a whole new setup? what are your suggestions..and i dont wanna go crazy on spending money
would this work, http://www.murrays.com/archive/32.pdf
down on the right item:QQ its a 4:1 block


Anthony-----H14
-- Have You Seen This? --
Re: blocks for h14 [Re: yankyfan2000] #36255
08/01/04 02:13 AM
08/01/04 02:13 AM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,718
St Petersburg FL
Robi Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Robi  Offline
Carpal Tunnel

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,718
St Petersburg FL
yep that will work fine. No need to buy the entire setup again.

Re: blocks for h14 [Re: yankyfan2000] #36256
08/01/04 05:17 AM
08/01/04 05:17 AM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 241
Largo, Florida
papayamon2 Offline
enthusiast
papayamon2  Offline
enthusiast

Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 241
Largo, Florida
Not to state the obvious, but be sure (or course) that your current block doesn't have a toggle or slide switch which changes it from free-wheeling to "gripping" mode.

OK, so I DID state the obvious...

Kevin
Largo, FL

Re: blocks for h14 [Re: papayamon2] #36257
08/01/04 10:59 AM
08/01/04 10:59 AM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 56
yankyfan2000 Offline OP
journeyman
yankyfan2000  Offline OP
journeyman

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 56
ya it does but its old and i think the grooves or teeth are worn so it doesnt grip the rope anymore. the guy that had the boat before me had no idea what he was doing...all the riggins was wrong. Also what is a good line from Murrays that i can buy.


Anthony-----H14
Re: blocks for h14 [Re: yankyfan2000] #36258
08/01/04 07:37 PM
08/01/04 07:37 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 195
White Bear Lake, MN
h17racer Offline
member
h17racer  Offline
member

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 195
White Bear Lake, MN
Anthony, the QQ block in the Murrays catalog is a freewheeling fiddle block. Freewheelers won't work! You need a Harken (or similar) hexarachet or ratchamatic intended for a main. The ratchating feature is what provides the resistance so you can hang on under load.

Does your current block ratchat in one direction? It should. What is your upper block? One of the original Seaways or a Harken?

This season I upgraded my son's H14 turbo with a slightly used 6:1 Harken setup off of my H17. Worked great and a lot less effort to sheet in during high winds while on the wire.

If you're on a budget you could check out the new Hobie 6:1 main block intended for the Getaway. In the $70 bucks range and looked like a pretty good 6:1 unit.

Sail fast, Tom G

Re: blocks for h14 [Re: h17racer] #36259
08/01/04 10:31 PM
08/01/04 10:31 PM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 56
yankyfan2000 Offline OP
journeyman
yankyfan2000  Offline OP
journeyman

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 56
sry im a newb to pretty much all of this but thx for telling me that one wont work. YEs my current block does rachet when i pull in and locks when going in the other direction, but does not grip the rope at all. My upper block is just a freewheeling harken.
I want a bottom block that clamps the line. What are my options? can anyone give me a link to a set up i can buy?

h17racer, where did you see the 6:1 main block? is that for both blocks, 70$?


Anthony-----H14
Re: blocks for h14 [Re: yankyfan2000] #36260
08/02/04 06:49 AM
08/02/04 06:49 AM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 195
White Bear Lake, MN
h17racer Offline
member
h17racer  Offline
member

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 195
White Bear Lake, MN
Anthony, what type and size of rope are you using for the main? Let's make certain you have the correct size and braid of sailing line. Std for an H14 is 3/8" spun braid, 42'. The fuzzy Trophy Braid is pretty popular. Verify that the prior owner didn't substitute a Home Depot rope. If you put the incorrect size or type of braid in those blocks it will not hold.

Next, not sure what you mean about it not clamping the rope as there is no actual clamping movement of the ratchet pulley. I may need you to post a couple of digital pics to see your setup.

Check your ratcheted main block...it should ratchet in one direction only (the direction the line would move when sheeting in) and "not" rotate in the other (the direction the line would move when moving out). I have seen blocks with the cleats installed on the wrong side.

The old style Seaway blocks had a problem with the keeper slipping. Is your main block a Harken or a Seaway?

As far as the Getaway 6:1 main block, any Hobie dealer should stock it. The $70 bucks range was for the main only. You will need a new 2.25" upper in order to go 6:1

Sail fast, Tom G


Re: blocks for h14 [Re: yankyfan2000] #36261
08/02/04 07:03 AM
08/02/04 07:03 AM
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 206
Virginia USA
CMerrell Offline
enthusiast
CMerrell  Offline
enthusiast

Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 206
Virginia USA
Sounds like you lack a cam cleat for some reason. A cam cleat can typically be added to a double/triple block. What you need is a Harken H150 cam cleat with a H137 eyestrap and the mounting plate (? part number). (Ronstan et. al. make equivelent gear).

Believe the bottom block on a H14 is a 2.25" triple. Class legal max. is 5:1. The setup looks like this:

Harken bottom block w/ cam cleat

The Cat Sailor on-line store has this. Their help line is 1-866-451-3287.

Also, West Marine, or any marine store that caters to sailboats, stocks cam cleats. It may be easier to bring your existing block to the store to fit up the gear you need.

I am very happy with 5/16" Yale Light as my main sheet (36 LF for H14). The Cat Sailor store has a similar product:

Spectra-Lite

Ask more questions if you need more help and a picture is always a good reference.


Re: blocks for h14 [Re: CMerrell] #36262
08/02/04 08:04 AM
08/02/04 08:04 AM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 56
yankyfan2000 Offline OP
journeyman
yankyfan2000  Offline OP
journeyman

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 56
Yes i do want a cam cleat. Is there any way to put one on my 4:1 harken block? All i do is lite lake sailing so i dont want to spend all the money to get a whole new setup.
I think the line might be the reason it is not locking in the block because it is to small. I think ill buy some of that Spectra-lite rope in 5/16. Hopefully that will solve the problem. How much should i buy for a 4:1 setup on a h14


Anthony-----H14
Re: blocks for h14 [Re: yankyfan2000] #36263
08/03/04 06:27 AM
08/03/04 06:27 AM
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 206
Virginia USA
CMerrell Offline
enthusiast
CMerrell  Offline
enthusiast

Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 206
Virginia USA
I think you have two choices WRT your blocks: add a cam cleat to what you have or buy a new 2.25" triple with a cam cleat and convert to a 5:1 system. If you go the add the cam cleat route, take your blocks to a marine supply store to make sure everything will work with what you have got.

The OEM main sheet is 3/8" dacron, 36 feet long. 5/16" line is actually a downsize but the higher performance core (Spectra/Dyneema) lets you do this. Smaller diameter line runs freer through the blocks (sheeting out). The bottom ratchet block does not "grip" the sheet per se but aids sheeting in heavier wind.

Sounds like the previous owner may have jury rigged some of the rigging. It may take some upgrading to sort it out.



Re: blocks for h14 [Re: CMerrell] #36264
08/03/04 07:22 AM
08/03/04 07:22 AM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 195
White Bear Lake, MN
h17racer Offline
member
h17racer  Offline
member

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 195
White Bear Lake, MN
FYI - Hobie quotes standard sheet length on an H14 at 42' with the standard 4:1 setup. Not sure where the 36' comes from. If you go 5:1 or 6:1 you do need to plan accordingly for the ratio upgrade.

Since you are not racing or trying to achieve boat hi-tech save yourself about 50% in sheet costs and use a more basic line. Approximately $1.30/foot vs. $.60/foot.

Are you able to post a pic of your lower block. From the sounds of it suspecting you may not be able to add a cleat.

Good luck, Tom G

Re: blocks for h14 [Re: h17racer] #36265
08/03/04 09:13 AM
08/03/04 09:13 AM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 56
yankyfan2000 Offline OP
journeyman
yankyfan2000  Offline OP
journeyman

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 56
nope my digital camera is broken, i think im just gonna buy a new wrope and hope it holds in the blocks a little bit more. And is the spectra the line i should get? any suggestions
thanks for all the help.


Anthony-----H14
Re: blocks for h14 [Re: h17racer] #36266
08/03/04 01:51 PM
08/03/04 01:51 PM
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 206
Virginia USA
CMerrell Offline
enthusiast
CMerrell  Offline
enthusiast

Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 206
Virginia USA
FWIW 36 LF is from the H14 parts list. Longer cannot hurt.

Re: blocks for h14 [Re: CMerrell] #36267
08/03/04 03:43 PM
08/03/04 03:43 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 195
White Bear Lake, MN
h17racer Offline
member
h17racer  Offline
member

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 195
White Bear Lake, MN
Hey C, my son and I own a H14. We placed new sheet lines this year. 36' would have been way too short. 42' is OK but more is essential if you go 6:1. Real life experience. Not sure where your Hobie length list came from. Mine was direct from the local Hobie dealer.

Andrew, before we confuse you any more first follow the link pasted below to get onto Hobie's site. You will find the H14 manuals, tuning guide and part lists in PDF format that you can download. Specifically, check out the blocks section and compare to what you do have before spending money on anything.

If your blocks are junk or plain wrong new sheets will make no difference.

Shoot to increase knowledge on the proper configuration of your boat as a first step.

Tom G

Re: blocks for h14 [Re: h17racer] #36268
08/03/04 03:59 PM
08/03/04 03:59 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 195
White Bear Lake, MN
h17racer Offline
member
h17racer  Offline
member

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 195
White Bear Lake, MN
Now I'll remember to place the link, you may need to cust and paste it into your browser.

http://www.hobiecat.com/support/index.html

Re: blocks for h14 [Re: yankyfan2000] #36269
08/04/04 08:15 PM
08/04/04 08:15 PM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 56
yankyfan2000 Offline OP
journeyman
yankyfan2000  Offline OP
journeyman

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 56
finally found what i want!!!
http://www.harkenstore.com/uniface.urd/scpdinw1.ShowProd?B4RPMEB9Y8TMEG

what i have is this w/out the cam cleat. Does anyone know where I can get this?


Anthony-----H14
Re: blocks for h14 [Re: yankyfan2000] #36270
08/04/04 08:41 PM
08/04/04 08:41 PM

A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A



I use 50' of 5/16" yalelite. This allows the line to also be the traveler line. The length is a must for getting the sail completely out downwind. I use a 6:1 purchase; 2.25 hexaratchet and 29mm triple carbon.

Bob

Re: blocks for h14 #36271
08/06/04 09:01 PM
08/06/04 09:01 PM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 56
yankyfan2000 Offline OP
journeyman
yankyfan2000  Offline OP
journeyman

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 56
anyone know where to get that item?^^^^^?


Anthony-----H14
Re: blocks for h14 #36272
08/08/04 03:28 PM
08/08/04 03:28 PM
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 217
West Texas
JaimeZX Offline
enthusiast
JaimeZX  Offline
enthusiast

Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 217
West Texas
Ha! I have the 1972 version of that thing on my '72 H16. I've been thinking about upgrading my mainsheet system, so if you can wait a few weeks I might do that and then I could sell you my old one.


Warm regards, Jim
Re: blocks for h14 [Re: JaimeZX] #36273
08/10/04 11:20 AM
08/10/04 11:20 AM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 56
yankyfan2000 Offline OP
journeyman
yankyfan2000  Offline OP
journeyman

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 56
ok well i got the blocks i want. Should i use 3/8 or 5/16 line? and how much do i need on a 4:1 set up? And what is the recomended length for the traveler?


Anthony-----H14
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  Damon Linkous 

Search

Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 29 guests, and 145 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newest Members
toomanyhulls, madina9900, johngava, badcatsailor, wehnet
8119 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Forum Statistics
Forums26
Topics22,399
Posts267,044
Members8,119
Most Online1,650
Sep 10th, 2019
--Advertisement--
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.1