Hop To
*&^% jib #51542
06/22/05 10:02 AM
06/22/05 10:02 AM
bkyser Offline OP
stranger
bkyser  Offline OP
stranger

Here's my history. I just moved up from a 14 to a 16. I have a lot of experience with sailing monohull sloop rigs, and like having a jib much better. I have a second forstay adjuster attatched to the standard one ( How I got the boat) I have the mast raked back so it's in the 5th hole from the top of that second adjuster ( equivelant to 15 holes up from the point where the bridle wires come together) Now, here's the problem. I have the halyard guide on the mast to stop the jib from hanging up on the jib halyard, but I can't seem to get the jib to pop over the mast without pulling it across. It really hangs up, and sometimes, I can't get the top battons to get across, no matter how hard I pull, the jib luff sticks WAY past the mast. Since I often sail alone, trying to juggle the jib sheets and yanking the jib around, while still handling the main sheet and tiller gets quite frustrating. I'm afraid if the wind has any speed at all, I'm gonna take a swim. My daughter has expressed some interest in racing, so I don't want to get the batten hinge set unless that's the only alternative ( not class legal?) Am I rigged wrong? I can't find any info on exactly what should be rigged in what hole, I just used the ones that looked like they had some scratches on them as if they were the ones most commonly used. If I rake my mast mor forward or aft, would that help? IF I'm not racing, can I take the battons out, or will the jib become useless, since it isn't cut for that?

Sorry about all the questions, but the *(&%^ jib is ruining my love for sailing Hobies right now.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks
Bob

-- Have You Seen This? --
Re: *&^% jib [Re: bkyser] #51543
06/22/05 10:39 AM
06/22/05 10:39 AM
North Carolina
hrtsailor Offline
enthusiast
hrtsailor  Offline
enthusiast

North Carolina
Bob,